We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST RENTALS ON LADY BIRD LAKE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Rowing Center

Texas Rowing Center
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST RENTALS ON LADY BIRD LAKE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

TRC has a friendly staff and great equipment!! I have always enjoyed renting from them and have yet to have a bad experience. They keep their dock and equipment clean. Great experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paddle Boards!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Easy access to the river and the rental process is painless. Only one complaint, $20 for one hour or $40 for the day, really! It took atleast and hour to even stand up on the paddle board and feel somewhat comfortable. Maybe stagger the rental rate alittle more. But overall it was a get adventure.

Helpful?
Thank g_whitloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I had a friend in town who wanted to try stand up paddle-boarding, and I was only familiar with the SUPAtx manufacture. On their website they recommend Texas Rowing Center.

I had never been down there, so I was impressed that it was easy to find and parking was fairly simple. Once we got there, we filled out waivers, waited in a short line and then were ready to go (they have a box system so you can leave keys/wallet at the Center.

I highly recommend doing the unlimited rental, we went down to the I-35 bridge and it was nice to feel like you could go at a leisurely pace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erikalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place for summer fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stand up paddling on Ladybird Lake is a fun and relaxing summer activity. The lake is busy on weekends. To avoid the crowds, head towards Redbud Island. The water there is deeper and free from water weeds (which usually get tangled with your foot chord).

I have been renting SUPs & row boats at TRC for over a year.
The staff are friendly and informative. Classes have been educational and fun!
There are plenty of SUPs available even on a weekend afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ram_Kudukoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“TX Rowing Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Helpful staff and nice dock for launching and returning. Parking can be a challenge if there on a nice day when hike and bike trail runners are also hunting for parking

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Rowing Center also viewed

 

Been to Texas Rowing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing