We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
DFW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

First stay in Austin and this hotel was very new! Room was nice and spacious with balcony view of UT. The gym was nice and overlooked the Capitol. Breakfast was good and stayed replenished. The staff was very nice, Jonathon helped when we checked in and out! He was very nice and helped with any question we had. Parking lot was full, but I was provided an alternative location with no charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Veronica R.

Thank you for your feeback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words and will thank Jonathan for assisting with you with questions. We are working hard to make this a great hotel and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    220
    52
    11
    4
See reviews for
385
246
66
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, ny
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hotel is clean. Our room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was good, this alone saves about 10.00 pp. the staff was very friendly and attentive. Room could have been a little less expensive or include the parking in the cost. 19.00 to park is a little steep especially when you get there and the gate to the garage is open so anyone could have parked there anyway. We had already paid or we would have taken advantage of the gate situation. The young women at the desk knew it yet charged us anyway. Other than that I would stay there again. It was a short walk to the capital.

Room Tip: Ask about the parking. Ask for a room away for the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetrisz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Tetrisz54,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our new Hampton Inn & Suites. I was glad to hear that our rooms were quiet and clean and that you appreciated our breakfast. Our staff is new and working hard to be the best they can be, they appreciate the kind words of being friendly and attentive. In regards to our rates and charging for parking. Our rates are competitive for the hotels in the downtown location. In fact, as you stated earlier our breakfast is complimentary as is our wireless internet service in the hotel. We appreciate your remarks in regards to our parking gate not closing. We have the gates working now and apologize for the delay in our construciton team getting the gates up and running. Agian, I appreciate your feedback and look forward to having with you stay with us again,

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a recently opened hotel and it is extremely nice. The staff and management are also very professional and go out of their way to ensure the guests are cared for. The business center in the lobby is not set up yet, but the hotel manager let me use his computer to print out my boarding pass - great service! The rooms are large with high ceilings which give an open feeling. The fitness room is well equipped. There are restaurants close (across the street).

Room Tip: I would get a room which does not face Lavaca Street. I had a room on the other side of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff and the hotel! We love hearing such nice things about our new establishment. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you choose to stay with us next time you're in Austin. If you ever need any help with future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 512-499-8881 or at nshappa@vistahost.net.

Sincerely,

Natalie Shappa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days after its grand opening on 10-13. Course the new operation had some hiccups, but the staff seemed entirely enthusiastic to resolve the concerns. New key cards werent working, elevators being slow, etc.
only Complaints that I have are the high prices, (-1 pt) they claim they are competing with the neighboring embassy suites and at&t conference center, let me negotiate a corporate rate with my company and I will be back also a few more to mention but will not let them affect my review due to the newness of the hotel, fridge was installed on day 6 of my 7 day stay, didnt have an alarm clock, and was missing a bedside lamp from one of the night stands, other than that, it was awesome to know that I was the very first person to stay on the linens and the breakfast buffet hit the spot. Location is phenomenal for tailgating at UT football games, majority of tailgaters were 4 blocks out the front door! Look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: if you want a quieter room stay on the university side, traffic from Lavaca can get noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for your review of our new hotel! We appreciate all the reviews we receive as they help us better ourselves. Thank you for understanding that we are still working out the kinks of the new hotel. The entire staff has worked very hard to get this hotel up and running, so thank you for your patience during your stay! We hope that you will give us another chance and if you decide to do so, please do not hesitate to contact me directly by email at nshappa@vistahost.net or by phone at 512-499-8881. Again, thank you so much for the review. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Natalie Shappa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing