We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #5 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location & price”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Short walk to either downtown/capital area or south side of university. Many good restaurants within short walk. Friendly staff, clear and comfortable rooms, and better breakfast than I've had at other Hampton Inns - will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for the kind words and description of our location and local eateries. I was delighted to see that you thought our staff was friendly and that you were comfortable in our rooms. I apprecate you noticing that our breakfast is better then the average Hampton Inn. We take great pride in giving as many varieties as we can.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    232
    57
    11
    4
See reviews for
403
263
68
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel sets the bar really high -- not only for other Hampton Inns, but for high-end hotels. We had a wonderful experience on our business/pleasure 3-night stay in Austin. The hotel is sleek and immaculately maintained. The room was nicely sized and the bed very comfy. The staff is amazingly customer-focused -- each person we encountered seemed sincerely interested in ensuring that our stay was wonderful. Special thanks to Nick, Jen and Emily (front desk) and Ricky for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikergal9251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Bikergal9251,

Thank you for your response to tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you think "this hotel sets the bar really high", I was glad to see you appreciated the size of our rooms and our "sleek" decor. Thank you for appreciating that our staff was amazingly customer focused. Thank you for the shout out to Nick, Jen and Emily & Ricky. Our staff works hard and it is nice to hear appreciation for their hard work. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Loved the decor and lighting of this "Austin cool" hotel. Complimentary breakfast was way more than the usual fare--delicious. Convenient location -- a few blocks from UT, Bob Bullock Museum, and the State Capitol.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank VBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear VBigler,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor! Thank you for noticing our "cool" hotel. I was glad to see that you enjoed your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast, location, oand decor of the hotel. We truly are a unique hotel! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel just opened in October. I stayed one night for a seminar at UT and a had a suite. The suite is huge! Such a great, comfy, spacious room within a few blocks walk to the University of Texas. The decor is Austin artsy and I love that the staff wore Keep Austin Weird patches on their uniforms. Everyone on staff was very helpful and kind. The views are beautiful and the pool area is very nice. Free breakfast in the morning was nice. The room was very quiet and the bed was wonderful.The hotel is also a short walk to the Bob Bullock Texas History Museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed one of our suites. I agree that we have a great central location near all Austin has to offer. Thank you for the comments about our staff. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merit, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Staff was wonderful. The hotel was located in the perfect spot for us as we were there for freshman orientation for UT Austin. Hotel was very clean. The hotel was within walking distance to many places to eat and shop. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Rick T,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for the kudos in regards to our staff. We take great pride in our hotel and appreciate the comments. Our housekeeping appreciates that you noticed how clean our hotel is. We do have a great location with good eateries around the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed 1 night but wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel and pool were clean and beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave us a room with views that made you not want to leave your room! The bed was very comfortable- not hard as a rock as they often are in hotels. We used the sofa bed as well and it was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and was certainly not just cold cereal and grocery store bagels/muffins.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank capecodrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear capecodrosie,

Thank you for the feedback on tripadvisor. We wish you could have stayed longer as well! Thank you for the kind words in regards to our pool and hotel being " clean and beautiful". I was glad to see that you noticed that our staff was friendly and helpful. Our rooms are the best in Austin, with a unique 11 foot ceilings and 12 foot windows! Thank you for the kudos on our breakfast. We take great pride in our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were in town for our daughter's freshman orientation at UT. The location of the hotel was great! Close to the University, the capital and the awesome food and entertainment downtown Austin has to offer. The beauty and well appointed rooms were a wonderful plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 492charlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear A Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and our location next to UT exceeded your expectations. We do have a great hotel and a great location. Our rooms offer 11 foot ceilings with 12 foot windows and are larger then most. Thank you for noticing the beauty of our hotel. Our owner put a lot of thought into the details of the decor from the local Artwork to the upgraded bedding package. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing