We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress, United States
1 review
“Family trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Very nice, comfortable hotel with a good hot breakfast. More than cereal, waffles, and yogurt. I wish they did have strawberry yogurt though instead of just peach and blueberry! Nice size rooms with extra space on the sides of the beds. Bathroom counter just a little high for us 5ft. 2" people though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Lori A,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor! Thank you for the kind words in regards to our comfortable hotel with "good hot breakfast". I was disapointed that we didn't have the variety of yogurts that you enjoy and will work with our staff to make sure their is more variety. I was glad to see you enjoyed our "nice size rooms". We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    220
    52
    11
    4
See reviews for
385
246
66
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This Hampton Inn was a great place to stay. It appears to be a relatively new property, as everything, from lobby decor to room furnishings were modern. The staff was very welcoming and willing to help me with my luggage as I had to hurry out to a business meeting. The central location allowed me to walk to both the capitol as well as walk on the UT campus. Overall, a great experience. I'll certainly be staying at this hotel when I visit Austin next.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Roger W,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor and that you had a "great" stay! I was delighted to see that you thought our staff was welcomingand willing to help me with your luggage. We look forward to your future stays with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Short walk to either downtown/capital area or south side of university. Many good restaurants within short walk. Friendly staff, clear and comfortable rooms, and better breakfast than I've had at other Hampton Inns - will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for the kind words and description of our location and local eateries. I was delighted to see that you thought our staff was friendly and that you were comfortable in our rooms. I apprecate you noticing that our breakfast is better then the average Hampton Inn. We take great pride in giving as many varieties as we can.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel sets the bar really high -- not only for other Hampton Inns, but for high-end hotels. We had a wonderful experience on our business/pleasure 3-night stay in Austin. The hotel is sleek and immaculately maintained. The room was nicely sized and the bed very comfy. The staff is amazingly customer-focused -- each person we encountered seemed sincerely interested in ensuring that our stay was wonderful. Special thanks to Nick, Jen and Emily (front desk) and Ricky for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikergal9251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Bikergal9251,

Thank you for your response to tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you think "this hotel sets the bar really high", I was glad to see you appreciated the size of our rooms and our "sleek" decor. Thank you for appreciating that our staff was amazingly customer focused. Thank you for the shout out to Nick, Jen and Emily & Ricky. Our staff works hard and it is nice to hear appreciation for their hard work. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Loved the decor and lighting of this "Austin cool" hotel. Complimentary breakfast was way more than the usual fare--delicious. Convenient location -- a few blocks from UT, Bob Bullock Museum, and the State Capitol.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank VBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear VBigler,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor! Thank you for noticing our "cool" hotel. I was glad to see that you enjoed your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast, location, oand decor of the hotel. We truly are a unique hotel! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel just opened in October. I stayed one night for a seminar at UT and a had a suite. The suite is huge! Such a great, comfy, spacious room within a few blocks walk to the University of Texas. The decor is Austin artsy and I love that the staff wore Keep Austin Weird patches on their uniforms. Everyone on staff was very helpful and kind. The views are beautiful and the pool area is very nice. Free breakfast in the morning was nice. The room was very quiet and the bed was wonderful.The hotel is also a short walk to the Bob Bullock Texas History Museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed one of our suites. I agree that we have a great central location near all Austin has to offer. Thank you for the comments about our staff. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Staff was wonderful. The hotel was located in the perfect spot for us as we were there for freshman orientation for UT Austin. Hotel was very clean. The hotel was within walking distance to many places to eat and shop. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Rick T,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for the kudos in regards to our staff. We take great pride in our hotel and appreciate the comments. Our housekeeping appreciates that you noticed how clean our hotel is. We do have a great location with good eateries around the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing