We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love loved it !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Last few trips to Austin, I stayed in, some total dump on i35 ( based on kayak reviews), Barton creek, Four seasons, and the Driskill. The latter three all had some pluses and minuses.

The Hampton inn, for the money, is a top 3 all time find. Very modern, clean, comfortable, convenient, I could go on and on. My top likes: Location by UT, spacious rooms, with ALL the necessary cable channels, fitness room is fabulous, pool with a view, free wifi that works, coffee in room, fridge in room, solid free breakfast--they even have a laundry room that we didn't use but maybe next time!

My only dislike is the normal downtown parking garage fee, but they had plenty of free short term parking for check in, and plenty of metered street parking as an alternative.

I am coming back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear David W, we thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoy our hotel so much and were able to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer. Our location and spacious room is what sets us apart from other hotels in the area and it's great you got to enjoy these features. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Austin!

Sincerely,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

I generally prefer to stay at Hiltons and Doubletrees because they are usually nicer than Hampton Inns. I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Austin with my family because it was cheaper and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is less than a year old and is very nice and clean. Definitely a step up from other Hampton Inns where I have stayed in the past.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Todd S, Thank you for your pleasant review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback and use it to better our hotel every day. I am pleased you chose to stay with us on your recent trip to Austin and we were able to make you "pleasantly surprised". We appreciated your compliments of our hotel's cleanliness. We hope you choose to stay with us for your next trip in Austin!

Sincerly,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here two nights and were really happy with this hotel. We had a break in meetings and thought we would check in at noon, or at least let the hotel know we were close by in case we did not get back by until late in the evening. Leslie was very pleasant and much to our surprise we were able to check in and drop our bags off in our room! On our way out, Leslie saw us and asked if everything was okay with the room, which we thought was nice.

The room was nice and clean, the beds were very comfortable and the sheets were so awesome I looked at the tag and came home and tried to order a set online. There was a small fridge and coffee maker in the room. The hotel offers a free, buffet-style breakfast which had a lot of variety and was very good; there were some different selections each day. Wifi is free, which I believe all hotels should offer. Parking was $18 per day in the garage which was located directly under the hotel. You must scan your room key in order to access the garage, and you must also scan your room key to use the elevators. At first, it was a hassle to remember to keep the key card readily available for all of this scanning, but then I soon realized I liked the security it offered for parking and access to the rooms.

The a/c unit in the room was a little loud when it turned on in the middle of the night and usually woke me up, but it was efficient. However, the room itself was very quiet, and one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in (I was a flight attendant for many years, trust me on this). Be prepared, the room door is very heavy, but it definitely keeps the hall noise out of the room. One morning I did not realize housekeeping was in the room next to me cleaning until I walked out of my room. The housekeeper had the radio on loud enough that I could hear it in the hallway, but I never heard it in my room next door.

The hotel is an easy walking distance to the UT campus and the capitol. We did walk all the way down Congress Avenue to the "bat bridge" and back, of course stopping by 6th street on the way, and while it was a long walk we enjoyed the exercise and scenery. There are a couple of restaurants by the hotel, and a package store close by, too.

The pool on the 5th floor is very small, but I did not plan on swimming anyhow. What we did enjoy was sitting on the deck, watching the sun go down, and the lights on the capitol building turning on - it was very nice.

I liked this hotel and location - very clean and quiet, and the employees were all very pleasant and accommodating. I will stay here again, and even made future reservations upon checkout.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFan5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear TravelFan5355

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate all feedback. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your request for an early check-in. I am very proud of our Front Desk staff and their outstanding service. Thank you for taking the time to notice their efforts. Our hotel has many amenities which I'm glad you were able to enjoy, it is one thing that we believe sets us apart from other hotels in the area. I'm sorry our a/c unit woke you up at night; I will have our staff look at the room you stayed in to assess any issues with the unit. Our pool lounge is also something that we believe sets our hotel apart from others with its spectacular views of the sunset and "the lights on the capitol building "; it’s certainly worth checking out when staying at our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our family spent the weekend here as we are visiting the city of Austin for the first time. Great location! We walked to the Bob Buller Museum, State Capitol, Guadalupe Street/UT and TONS of food all nearby :) The hotel is nice and clean, rooftop pool is on the smaller side, but still nice for a cool down dip. Breakfast is standard, but clean/good. Overall, we have enjoyed the hotel and would return/recommend :)

Room Tip: Maybe request pool side view, otherwise it is just power lines/top of buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elchuchoperucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Elchuchoperucho

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor, we appreciate all feedback. I'm thrilled you enjoyed our location as we are located near many points of interest in Austin. I'm also pleased to hear you were satisfied with our "nice and clean" hotel, our housekeeping staff works hard to keep our hotel sparkling clean. We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A leisure weekend in Austin was highlighted by our being upgraded to a corner suite on the top floor of this new hotel. What a surprise! Great new hotel near the Capital and the University of Texas campus. A real pleasant trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear David M,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your upgraded room in our new hotel, which opened in October 2012. I’m pleased you were able to take advantage of our location as we are situated just 4 blocks from the Capitol and just 2 blocks from the University of Texas. I'm glad our hotel made for a "real pleasant trip" for you. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a good, newer hotel near the university. The rooms are spacious, clean and have comfortable beds.

The good:
- Looks like a fairly new hotel. Rooms have high ceilings and are comfy.
- Decent breakfast selection.
- Location is very good if you want to stay near the university. It's a bit of walk to downtown though the bus stops right at the hotel if you need to catch one.

The bad:
- Service. We didn't like the fact that we were treated like second class guests. Our flight was coming in really late at night so I called the hotel to see if they would keep a good quiet room for us (not an upgrade, just a quiet room). The first thing they mention is that since we booked the hotel through a travel website that they can't necessarily give us a good room, that only a certain rooms are kept for those tiers e.t.c. The receptionist tells us that if a Hilton reward member wanted our room, that they would have to move us and give it to them - who says that to guests as they are checking in???
Why do hotels treat guests who did not book through their websites like 2nd grade "guests"?? They are fine advertising their business on travel sides but don't really like it when guest purchase a room through them. Come on, we can afford the rooms, just don't treat us like that.

If we ever visit Austin again, we would not stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TheTravellingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear TheTravelingG,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor, we appreciate all feedback. Thank you for noticing that our rooms are clean, spacious, & comfortable, good breakfast and location. Thank you for reporting what is clearly a training issue. I apologize that our staff made you feel like second tier guests. I have used this post as an example of how not to treat guests and do apologize that you had this experience. As you can tell by reading our tripadvisor reports, we have a great staff. I would the opportunity to make up for the experience you had with us and I don't ever want guests. Again, I am incredibly sorry that our staff made you feel like a second tier guest and we will correct the behavior immediately.

Apologies,
Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our room was very spacious and very clean. The rooms have high ceilings which gives you the sense of even more space. Beds were great - very comfortable. Walking distance to the State Capital and The University of Texas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tony M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Tony M G,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to notice that our room was spacious and very clean, & have high ceilings. I agree our beds are great and we offer an upgraded bedding package and sheets. We are central to all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#12 of 205 in Austin
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 205 in Austin
2,125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £137 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing