We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and new facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #4 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Like this hotel for its location relative to the UT campus local amenities. Facility is only about a year old and is in very good condition. Parking is too expensive in my opinion probably because of the limited amount of parking spaces they have on location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us a great score. I was happy our staff was able to accomodate your needs and make sure you enjoyed your stay. I agree, we do have a great loation, centrally located near all Austin has to offer. Again we appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. We had booked our room off of Expedia and it said that we could have 5 guests in the room. However, due to fire statutes, they were not able to bring a roll-away into our room. They upgraded us, free of charge, to a room that would accommodate our party and had room for a roll-away bed. The complementary breakfast was very good. The location was great. And the staff was fabulous! If our travels bring us back to Austin, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for responding on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that our staff was " nice and accommodating". I was sorry for the expedia mix up but was happy to see that we could accomdate the challenge. I was happy to see you had a fabulous stay with us and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were allowed to leave our car in the garage and enjoy the morning campus tour. We were fortunate to receive a late checkout, so we had the opportunity to freshen up before our drive home. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The staff made our stay in a hot city much more comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Cheryl R,

Thank you for the response on tripadvisor n regards to your stay with us. We appreciate your high marks and I will pass along to the staff. I was glad to see that "everyone was extra helpful and friendly". We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is fine and comfortable, and breakfast was good. Nothing amazing. The pool was small and extremely salty, as in, from human sweat (unless they use saltwater chlorination, which I doubt).

The main problem? $19 parking. This is Austin, not NYC! The most annoying thing is that they know nobody wants to pay this, so every morning at 7am Mon-Sat there were like 10 people going to feed the meter, which is $1/hr up to 3 hours. There is also unlimited parking nearby, and parking lots for $5-7. The place is far enough away from stuff that it's likely you won't be parked there all day, so it's really quite a gouge from Hampton Inn to expect people to pay that much. I'm sure it's ultimately profitable for them, but they should really lower the price or account for parking in the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grantsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Grant S,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor. OUR POOL IS A SALT CHLORINATION POOL, and we check the pool everyday. I am sorry that you did not know that our pool was a salt water system. We will look into getting signage for the pool system so other guests do not have the same fear. I was glad to see that you felt our hotel was fine and comfortable. I understand your frustration with parking and we have set our pricing to the average of our competitors around us. I am sorry that Downtown Austin parking is on the high side. Again, I was disapointed that your pool experience and parking experience left you with an average stay with us. Hopefully, in the future we can make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Located right next to UTA, this hotel was a great place to stay. Exceptionally friendly front desk, who welcomed us back each time we stepped out, and comfortable rooms make this place a no brained for the next time we are in town. Near Guadeloupe street restaurants and about 11 blocks to the 6th street bars and pubs, this place is also just a few blocks from the state capital building. Rooms were great, and housekeeping was perfect. Stay here!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank AlishasHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear AlshasHubby,

thank you for the kind words in regards to the "exceptionally friendly front desk". I was happy to see that you had a "great" experience at our hotel and that you found our location next to the University of Texas to be excellent. I was happy to read your review and will pass on the high marks to the staff. Thank you for responding to tripadvisor and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were warmly greeted when we arrived at the Hampton Inn. The lobby is spacious and decorated in a fun music theme. The room was very comfortable and the vaulted ceilings made it seem extra large. The included breakfast and wi fi add to it's value. The front desk staff cheerily assisting me by printing out information from the internet that I needed. The hotel is a short walk or drive from the UT campus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear 26travelfam,

Thank you for the great rating and responding to tripadvisor. I was happy to see that you were warmly greeted by our staff. I was happy to see that you appreciated our tall ceilings and took advantake of our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great place to stay! Rooms and property are current and very well maintained. Pool, exercise room, etc. are very nice. Staying at many Hampton Inns - I would put this at the top of the list. Just as seen on the YouTube video. Highly recommend for those coming to Austin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Stevemathis,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you felt that our property is a "great place" to stay. Thank you for noticing that our property is well maintained. Thank you for putting this at the top of the list of Hampton Inn's you have stayed in. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.8 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £126 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing