We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly to the Max!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #4 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Bethel, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly to the Max!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

People that have the reason to stay here will be pampered and treated like royalty. These folks know how it needs to be and just do it! Amazing. Clean, efficient, helpful beyond explanation. Dont stay any place else while in Austin, they have soem of the big chains beat by a long shot!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Debra N.

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We appreciate the kind words about our "friendly to the max" comments. I agree and appreciate you taking the time to recognize our staff. Thank you for the recommendations to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    239
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
419
272
70
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have stayed at many, many hotels, and I have to say this is probably the best value for a hotel I've been at. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and clean, the buffet breakfast is good, and the location is quite convenient.
The thing that sets this hotel apart at this price range is the staff: friendly, personable, attentive. Really very good.
The exercise equipment is new; the fitness room is small, similar to most other hotels, but has a nice selection of weights, treadmills, and ellipticals. The outdoor pool on the fifth floor is small.
Within easy walking distance of all of UT's campus and the off-campus housing. Right next to an IMAX theater as well. Not great restaurants in the immediate area, but you can walk around the campus outskirts for a good selection.

Room Tip: ask for high floor with room for view of UT campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear TomDM94,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and I was glad to see you saw "excellent value when visiting UT Campus" at our porperty. I agree we have a fantastic location near the UT campus, but also centrally located near all Austin has to offer. Thank you for the kind words in regards to the staff. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel and we love that we have a unique hotel! Our tall ceilngs really make our new rooms look even bigger and I agree that we have a top notch fitness center. Thank you for the kind post and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This Hampton Inn was fabulous!! A+ location with wonderfully comfortable beds and sheets and a huge desk/ work station in the King Suites. I have stayed at several other more expensive hotels in the UT Campus area and this hotel beats them hands down!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Nancy R.,

Thank you for your response on tripadivisor. I agree that our hotel is "fantastic". I appreciate that you noticed our custom Microfiber upgraded sheets. I believe we are the only hotel that offers these sheets in the Austin market! Our uniquely "Austin" design and decor sets us apart from our competitors. Thank you for recommending our hotel on tripadvisor. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and thought it was a great location to downtown's major landmarks. The Capital and UT were within walking distance. This hotel is nice, new and clean. Parking was great too. Private garage access to hotel guests only. My family would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingkr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Travelingkr2011,

thank you for your response on tripadvisor. I appreciate the kind words in regards to our location to downtown's major landmarks. The Capitol and UT amongst other attractions in Austin are close to the hotel. I a was glad to see that you and your family would stay with us again. We look forward to your next stay in Austin

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our overall stay at the Hampton Inn was phenomenal. The hotel was accessible to all the places that we want to go to. It is important to our family to stay in a place that we are comfortable because of convenience. The people are hospitable and they are very accommodating. However, a few incident happened beyond their control for example, the elevator malfunctioned in two different times during our stay. The manager was on top of things and immediately called the right authority to intervene. We also called the front desk for a wake up call but forgot to call us, luckily my husband and I are early risers and we also set our alarm clock so that we were able to wake up and gave us ample time to make our flight back home. We understood that the place is new and that the staff change in different shifts. Proper communication amongst the staff is very important and would like to see that improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Lane M,

I was glad to see that your overall stay with us was phenomenal. I agree that our location is top notch and central to everything Austin has to offer. On occasion the elevators go down, as they do in all hotels, I was glad to see that our manager was on it and made sure everthing was taken care of . I was disapointed to see that we missed a wake up call. I will address with our staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We will work to have proper communication amongst our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Regards,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I have never written a review on here before but after staying at this hotel, I definitely thought it was worth it! This hotel is a beautiful, new Hampton located near the University of Texas. The staff was excellent and so helpful with everything from providing directions to giving fantastic restaurant recommendations. I would definitely recommend that anyone traveling to Austin stay here and experince this unique and superb hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Gloria F,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for recognizing our staff! I agree that they do a great job! We are centrally located near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Like this hotel for its location relative to the UT campus local amenities. Facility is only about a year old and is in very good condition. Parking is too expensive in my opinion probably because of the limited amount of parking spaces they have on location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and gave us a great score. I was happy our staff was able to accomodate your needs and make sure you enjoyed your stay. I agree, we do have a great loation, centrally located near all Austin has to offer. Again we appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing