We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Nice design. Excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Nice design. Excellent staff.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Top notch property. It is brand new looking and feeling. They kept the Austin feel to it by having graffiti, art, and the housekeeping crew wearing tie dyed aprons. The staff was excellent and very accomodating. I was upgraded to a suite which was an excellent room with a bar area, kitchenette, and living room. The location of the hotel is nearly perfect. Out of the center of downtown with all the crowds and traffic but close enough to ride a bike, cab, or even walk to several places of interest. I like that it is pet friendly. I could say all sorts of good things and I will stay here again. My only recommendations would be these: have some bikes to check out from the hotel. Austin is very bike friendly and some other hotels (in NYC, etc) have a program like this. I would even be willing to rent them. The other suggestion would be to sell beer or wine from the market in the lobby. I have been to other Hampton / Hilton / Homewood properties that do this. The night of the downpour at ACL, I stayed in and it would have been great to have been able to grab a couple of beers instead of having to walk around in the rain to find a nearby bar. Otherwise I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear halo36,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you for calling our hotel "Top notch property". Thank you for noticing the graffitti wall and tie dyed aprons on our housekeepers. Thank you for the comments about our excellent staff. I coun't agree more. I agree that we have a great centrally located hotel and near all Austin has to offer. Thank you for the comments about a potential bike rental area. I have looked into the bike rentals and we are creatively looking at where we could store the bikes with limited space. We will revisit to see if their is something we can do. We will also consider selling alcohol in our market. Thanks for the comments and recommendations. We look forward to your next stay in Austin.

Sincerly,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    234
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
412
269
70
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This Hampton Inn is an impressive hotel – a very modern, eclectic, music-themed hotel originally built as a condo before the hotel bought it. The art throughout the lobby, including the very cool “Killer Licks” guitar sculpture in the lobby gave us a very ‘Austin’ feel upon arriving.

Our room had soaring 12-foot ceilings (room 807), but there are a variety of room designs throughout the hotel due to its condo pedigree. The balconies are nice, but note that there is no patio furniture on any floor above the 2nd level. Note that the water pressure in the shower was extremely variable and would change 4-5 times within 10 minutes. Not sure if this was specific to our room or the whole building, but it might be something the hotel could look into.

On the fifth floor, there is a very nice outdoor pool that overlooks the Capitol building and the Austin skyline (best pool view for a hotel I’ve ever seen). There’s also a very modern workout room with TV's on all the exercise bikes and treadmills, plus a guest laundry with only one washer and one dryer – but also the wise addition of a folding table and a TV overhead so that you can pass the wait time watching a game or a show.

All of the staff at the front desk, in the breakfast area and in housekeeping were friendly and welcoming. We wanted to give special commendation to Lindsey who consistently went over and above throughout our stay – securing our room preference on the highest floor, providing detailed information on how best to navigate the city, giving us a list of best cab companies and drivers, and also providing details on how best to visit the nearby UT campus.

The breakfast every morning was varied and leisurely. The breakfast staff made us feel like they really appreciated our being there and wanted to ensure we had what we needed. Since this is a smaller boutique-type hotel, there were never more than a few tables occupied at breakfast during our stay. The waffle makers designed in the shape of Texas were a very nice touch. :-)

This is definitely a hotel we’d return to again on any future Austin visits.

Room Tip: 5th floor is perfect if you're interested in using the pool or the workout room. 8th floor is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Trip Tiger,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the 5 circle rating! I was proud to read your remarks and couldn't agree with you more. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed email elaborating on our unique "boutique style" hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having finally reached Austin 24hrs late and somewhat jet lagged the Hampton Inn was a welcome experience. Right from the start we were happy with our decision to stay here. Everything from the friendly staff, great decor (I would love to get my hands on some of the artwork!) and extremely comfortable bedroom made our stay one which we look forward to repeating when we return to Austin.

With only a 10-15 minute leisurely walk from the wonderful Red River District and 6th St, we spent our 6 days in music and food heaven.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkMoonGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear PinkMoonGalway,

Thank you for the comments on tripadivsor. While I appreciate being called a "city gem" I was disapointed to see such rave reviews and receive 4 circles. I agree with you, we have some phenonmenal artwork in the hotel and truly give off the Austin vibe for a hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Sincerly,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had an AWESOME stay at the Hampton Inn. We held a business breakfast meeting. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating! Everyone was super helpful. The event went off without a hitch. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Peter N.

Thank you for the kind words on Tripadvisor, I was glad to see that you had an Awesome stay with us! I was delighted to see that everyone you encountered was accomodating. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a wonderful weekend my wife and I had in Austin. Our stay at the Lavaca Hampton exceeded all expectations. From the wonderful hotel staff to our spacious accommodations, everything was perfect for our weekend get-a-way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Denis B.

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor. I was glad to see that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us in Austin. I was thrilled to see that we exceeeded your expectations. I appreciate the kind words about our staff and that you enjoyed our spacious accomodations. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel was perfectly located near the UT campus and the Capitol. It was easy to find and easy to get in and out of. I found the staff to be very helpful and the hotel was very clean. I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jo102597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Jo102597,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback. I agree that our hotel is "perfectly located" near the UT Campus, Capitol, and all UT has to offer. Thank you for noticing that our staff was helpful and that our housekeeping department does a good job. Thank you! We look forward to your next stay with us!

GM
Sean Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great staff, easy check in and out, good breakfast with amazing bacon, room was super clean and fresh, great technology, parking was easy, quick walk to UT campus, quiet room and A/C worked great which is always very important to me

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Ashley M.

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I appreciate your comments "awesome hotel with great location". I couldn't agree with you more. We are centrally located near all austin has to offer. I appreciate that you felt our hotel was clean and fresh. We love having you here and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing