We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, great deal”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed the weekend for the Armadillo Christmas Bazaar on a great sale on Hotels.com. We had a King Studio Suite, and it's huge. Kitchen area including fridge, microwave, 1-cup coffeemaker, and a great view. The place is comfortable with a modern feel, the staff was ultra friendly, and the location near the capital is good. We enjoyed the free full breakfast, but didn't eat there otherwise. Also, we never made it to the swimming pool deck but another guest said it's got a fantastic view of the capital dome and city, beautiful at night. This is a first class hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Barry T,

Thank you for responding to tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind comments and appreciate the 5 circle rating! Thank you for noticing our spacioius rooms and "ultra friendly staff". We feel we have the best rooms in Austin and our staff takes great pride in their work! Thank you for informing tripadvisor that you feel this is a first class hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    234
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
412
269
70
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for Business and rented a King size bed room. It had a wonderful sitting area and mini table, with high ceilings and balcony. Perfect place to unwind after a long day of meetings or after sight seeing in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for the feedback on tripadvisor! I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our "awesome rooms". We believe we have the best rooms in the city, with our 11 foot ceilings and 12 foot windows, ceiling fans & unique Austin decor. I was glad to see that you enjoyed one of our balcony rooms and look forward to you coming back to visit us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We found ZERO problems with this hotel. Super comfortable bed, decor modern and minimalist, very friendly staff, good location near Capitol, excellent security measure in place. We were on the 8th floor and had a great view of the Capitol.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Ralph C,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that you found ZERO problems with this hotel. Thank you for the comments on the friendly staff and good location. We feel we have the best staff in the city and have a central location near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerly,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked a corner balcony suite. Wow! Great view. Nice decor. Staff is exceptionally friendly and proud of this fairly new hotel. Artsy. More like a kimpton property than a Hampton.
Close to UT, the Capitol and 6 th street.
Great place to stay!

Room Tip: 8th floor corner suite...treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Agdahl,

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback and appreciate your kind words. We appreciate the comparison to a Kimpton Hotel. I was delighted that you mentioned our hotel was exceptionally friendly and proud. Our team takes great pride in their hotel. WE have a truly unique Austin docor and feel and "Artsy" is a good way to describe us. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was a fabulous hotel. Honestly, I was so surpirsed because I wasn't expecting this from a Hampton Inn. The decor is so modern, fun, un-stuffy. The rooms were HUGE and my room overlooked the capitol and downtown area. My room also had a wrap around balcony so I could spend some time outside enjoying the views. The beds were cozy and the room was huge, like an apartment. I highly recommend this hotel & will be staying here when I return to the Austin area.

Room Tip: Corner suites include a balcony and are so roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Heidi Y,

Thank you for the comments on Tripadvisor. Thank you for appreciating our "funky" design and our custom beds and sheets. I was delighted to see that you took advantage of one of rooms with a wrap around balcony! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A new, modern hotel with an excellent location in downtown Austin - Highly recommended! The breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of delicious options. I wish I had been able to enjoy the rooftop pool overlooking downtown, but the weather did not allow. This will be the first hotel I look into for my next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Eric R,

Thank you for the comments on tripadvisor about our Modern hotel with excellent location. I agree that we are centrally located near all Austin has to offer. Thank you for the Kudos on our Hampton on the run breakfast. We try to put more then what is required. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent stay, facilities and staff. Location is perfect...walking distance to UT Austin and Capitol building. Usually only stay at another hotel that has only suites...previous BAD experience at that Austin property. This Hampton in will NOT disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Gary G,

We appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for the kind words. Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and staff in particular. Our team takes great pride in taking care of our guests and keeping the hotel clean. Thank you for the score and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing