We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great boutique style property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #6 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great boutique style property”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

stayed last night at this Hampton Inn and suites and was blown away at what a great boutique style hotel it was. THIS is NOT you regular Hampton Inn and Suites. The service was exceptional the front desk knows what the hospitality industry is all about. Shaye the young man at the front desk was so helpful and goes out of his way to make sure you are taken care of. This is a team that gives 5 star service!!!!! Sean the GM was in the lobby to meet and greet the guests as they arrive and makes all the guests feel very welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable the housekeeping team does a great job. I will always stay here. Great job to the GM and his team.

Room Tip: Fitness Center is very very nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dan W,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback. Your review of our property is right on as we are more of a boutique Hampton Inn with Hampton standards. We loved having you here. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerly,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    234
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
412
269
69
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here because this hotel had great reviews. We were not disappointed! We brought our dog, no problem. Beautiful room with large balcony. Very clean! I would love to see less processed food for breakfast but in general a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Nancy G,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that you read the reviews on tripadvisor and that we didn't disappoint. I agree about Hamptons processed foods, however we follow our Hilton Hampton Inn standards and I know Hilton is always working on improving its breakfast. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We decided to pay a bit more to be right down in the middle of the Austin action. (Although Expedia had a 30% off sale which made it a no-brainer.) This has great location, large quiet rooms, ample breakfast in a huge dining area. I'll make it my first choice from now on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leifneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Leifneve,

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your description of our hotel and "Perfect for your Austin vaca". I agree, our hotel is centrally located near all Austin has to offer. Our complimentary breakfast and internet are a great way to start your day off and our rooms are second to none in Austin. We look forward to your next visit to Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived around midnight and Darby welcomed us by getting us into a room quickly. We were in Austin to celebrate my best friend's birthday and I had asked for a room with a view. The one we were given did not have a view but Darby put us in one the very next morning. In fact, she upgraded us to a lovely King Suite. Lindsey arranged for someone to help us move our luggage. My best friend was very touched by the surprise that Lindsey brought her of a bottle of champagne, two glasses, and a card signed by the staff. Belinda was wonderful as well. Whatever we needed they went out of their way to help us. They called our cabs for us and if we needed something they made sure we got it. The front desk and the rest of the staff were very friendly. The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The roof top pool is very relaxing and provides a wonderful view of the capitol. I highly recommend this hotel and was very satisfied with the service. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor, Darby and staff take great pride in their work. While we have a great hotel, our people have the biggest impact! I was delighted that we exceeded your expectations and happy to see your friend enjoyed here surprise. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This felt like a boutique hotel, but had all of the expected comforts of a Hampton Inn. Nothing but good things to say about Darby and her fellow staff that we encountered during our recent weekend stay in Austin. It's a perfect combo of the "keep Austin weird' vibe and the Hampton '100% guarantee' reliability.

The website pictures should give you a good idea of the look and feel of the place, but they don't capture the staff's upbeat morale. Other stuff to note: breakfast had the Hampton standards but was especially well furnished and staff was more attentive than at a typical Hampton. Extra high ceilings give the room a spacious feel. Location is good in a general sort of way, but expect to be surrounded by parking garages and other state office-affiliated buildings. No view from our room, and looks like that's going to be the case for many. Pool deck is nice, as is the exercise room.

Would stay here again without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear SWDCtraveler,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I appreciate the kind words about our Staff and Darby in particular. Thank you for noticing our teams efforts. I enjoyed your description of our hotel and appreciate the comparison to a boutique hotel with the expectations of a Hampton Inn!We feel we have the best hotel rooms in the city and staff to match. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My wife stayed here for a conference being held at the AT&T Center. The location couldnt have been better, and she had a suite with a kingsize bed and balcony. She was very happy.

But where the hotel stuck out was in the amazing service. The assistant general manager Darby helped me surprise my wife with treats for the weekend. To say she went beyond her duty is an understatement.

Maybe next time I can go...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joemart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Joemart1,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you felt our hotel was " Perfect location and service'". I couildn't agree with you more. We are centrally located near all Austin has to offer. We are steps from the entertainment district, you can enjoy the downtown scene without being part of it. Thank you for acknowledging Darby, she does a fantastic job for the hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerley,

Sean Fitzgerald

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

From the very early planning stages through the hectic pre-wedding week, and through the wedding weekend your staff and service was nothing but excellent. With the help of sales and management staff, the personal and friendly care of all the front desk people and the rest of their amazing hotel staff, our out-of-town guests had an extraordinary experience. Everyone's needs and requests were addressed. We had an amazing suite to hold the hair/makeup day for the bridal party. (By the way the large windows provide excellent light for makeup.) You can't beat the location - guests were able to take taxis to downtown venues for the price of parking a car at a car lot! They even walked as a group to Stubb's BBQ from the hotel for dinner (approx. 1 mile). (Of course, after they ate they needed the taxi! lol) If you book there, be sure to go to the rooftop and be eye-to-eye with the State Capitol building and the UT Tower, at once!! I have received many compliments on my choice of hotel for the wedding block and I know that our wedding guests will be returning to Hampton Inn and Suites Austin Capitol/University Area when they return to Austin in the future.

I am the mother of the bride, and honestly, our experience with your hotel could not have gone better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Anna J,

I appreciate you taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor survey. I was so happy to see that your wedding block could not have been more perfect! I was really pleased to see that our staff provided with our hotel gave your guests an extraordinary experience. We look forward to your return visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing