We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, United States
1 review
“Austin Weekend”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Hampton Inn Suites is brand new very contemporary cool design has excellent location and staff and great accommodations. A little pricey for a Hampton Inn type/class hotel but in general Austin is overpriced in general so you are kind of stuck!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
ag05dc,

Dear ag05dc,

thank you for your response on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you felt our hotel was a good value. I was happy to see that you like our beds and that our rooms are well appointed. We will work on our signage on the room floors to see what we can do to make it less confusing, thank you for the tip. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    229
    55
    11
    4
See reviews for
396
258
68
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location for University & Capital. Very clean & quiet with very helpful staff. Pool on roof - nice spot for morning coffee or evening relaxation. Second stay in two years for business and definitely would return. Not in the area where most other hotels are located, but within about 15 minutes. A few blocks from both Capital and University.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Gail B,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I was happy to read that you felt our rooms were very clean and quiet with a helpful staff. I believe our pool area view, in the morning, is a fantastic way to see Austin's skyline. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a nice Hampton and well located. I wish they had an onsite restaurant or bar, however. Bed was comfortale and the room was well appointed. The signs in the hallways are a little confusing and we found it sort of a maze to find our room.

Helpful?
Thank ag05dc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear ag05dc,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed good value during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing up the signs in the hallways and we will work to make it less confusing. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
blanchard, OK, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed 7 nights for business, they are withing walking distance of the capitol and the TX history museum, the room was clean, bed was comfortable, hot water worked great, the breakfast was great food with much variety, the staff was very helpful, the pool area was a great place to relax with a book, I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Carla W,

Thank you for staying with us and responding to tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations. I agree we do have a great location near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit to Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My girlfriend and I were in Austin for a wedding and the Hampton Inn was chosen by the wedding party for lodging. Great choice! The staff could not have been friendlier (thank you for all your help Lindsey!). We arrived at 10am and they were able to get us in our room early and gave us a free upgrade to a suite just for waiting a couple of minutes. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best I have had. The location was also perfect for checking out the sights around Austin. Would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jacob M,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor, I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and rated us 5 circles. Thank you for appreciating Lindsey and our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here this past weekend. Great location! It's literally right next to a great little Mexican restaurant, which we walked down to, and ate at on our first night. $20 for parking upon check-in, but you can come and go after that one time fee. Room was nice and clean! My two boys, ages 9 and 5 really enjoyed the rooftop pool! :-)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was so happy to see your review "great location! clean and modern". I agree that we do have some great restaurants in the area. I was happy that your two boys enjoyed our pool area. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hampton Inn is one of my go-to's and I was very impressed with this location. The room was huge with incredibly high ceilings. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever felt—it was really that good. The breakfast was ok, nice that it's included. The parking garage was a challenge one night, but I was still able to find a spot that fit my rental van. The workout room is great, and the small rooftop pool was definitely a plus.

I originally wanted to be near 6th Street, but found better rates here during my trip, so I simply walked the 20 minutes to get down to bars and restaurants. I would likely book closer to 6th Street next time, unless rates at this property were a good value again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear MLNC,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our high ceilings and comfortable beds. I believe our rooms are the best in the city. We have a great location, you can experience the 6th street fun without being part of it. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing