We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and I were visiting friends in Austin and decided to stay at the Hampton Inn downtown. We had an excellent experience while staying there. Two thumbs up for the hotel room, breakfast buffet, exercise facility, and pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Nikki D,

Thank you for your tripadvisor review. We appreciate the kinds words and look forward to your next stay with us! We appreciate your two thumbs up and only hope we can obtain a three thumbs up on your next visit to Austin :).

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

When you hear Hampton, you think clean and nice....but not amazing!!! This place is a luxury hotel under the Hampton name!!! Gorgeous!!! Great pool, great gym, great free breakfast, great carts to move in your stuff, great location....just an amazing place to stay! We celebrated our anniversary!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mhsipko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Mhsipko,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor....Fo'shizzzle..... We look forward to you staying with us next time you visit Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I came to this hotel after leaving an unacceptable one near 6th street. I was very pleased with the cleanliness and location of the hotel. It is also very safe. A room key is needed to access the hotel
from the garage(fee for parking). In addition, a key is needed to use the elevator from the lobby itself to access the rooms. The room with two beds was spacious and clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. A free hot breakfast with eggs, pastries, yogurt, fruit, bread/muffins for toasting, cereal, hot oatmeal, juice and coffee was very good. There is an internet work station with a printer in the lobby. The lobby itself was spacious and perfect for lounging after a long day visiting the city. The hotel is about 13 blocks from 6th street, but honestly for the price, cleanliness and safety it was ideal. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites while visiting Austin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Lovestotravel709,

thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I appreciate your descriptive review and will let it speak for itself. We look forward to you staying with us on your return visit to Ausitn.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family and I stayed here to be near the University for a swim meet. The location was perfect with only a short drive. We had to be there about three times a day. Came back to the hotel to nap and relax in the afternoon. Their pool was wonderful, with a view of the Capital from the patio. The staff was friendly and efficient in checking us in. Breakfast was great with several choices of hot foods. There was plenty of staff on hand to keep it well stocked and clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank planopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear planopeg,

Thank you for the feedback on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that we exceeded your expectations and that our location and breakfast were great for your swim meet at the University of Texas. Thank you for acknowledging that our staff was friendly and efficient. We hope you did well in the swim meet and look forward to your next stay in Austin!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very clean hotel; safety features making you comfortable; clean, comfortable and quiet rooms; comfortable beds; attentive, caring and friendly customer service. Excellent location--easily within walking distance to UT, TX State Museum, and the Capitol. Be aware, the pool is VERY small. High recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room below the Fitness Center so would caution to avoid this. Someone working out kept dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear D R

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor, We appreciate you taking the time to describe our hotel as "Clean, Safe, and comfortable". Thank you for identifying that our staff was caring and friendly. I agree that our location is near all Austin has to offer. I was delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your next stay at Austin.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From the moment we walked in to the hotel we were pleased with how well the staff treated us, Shaye checked us in quickly and efficiently - we were able to get up to our room and relax with ease. The room itself was spacious, clean, and we were surprised to find that we had a balcony that we actually had access to walk outside and enjoy the view, a nice vantage point to see some of the Austin city scape. Unfortunately, we had forgotten to turn off the headlights on our car the evening we stayed, and of course - our car wouldn't start the next morning, we realized this literally as we had just checked out and were attempting to load up and head home. Thankfully, Lindsey Heaney came to our rescue - she volunteered to assist us without hesitation and quickly gave us a jump and we were good to go. It's situations like these that truly define a hotel, how they treat their guests in circumstances that don't necessarily warrant them to HAVE to help - we will certainly be staying at this hotel again in the future when we travel back to Austin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lydia N,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I was so happy to read that you felt we have "an Excellent staff, incredibly helpful and inviting". I will let your descriptions speak for itself. thank you for the kind words.

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I just completed a business trip to Austin where I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. I was impressed by the cleanliness of my room and the attentiveness of the front desk team. The hotel is located very close to the UT campus, which made it very convenient. Loved my stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Steve H,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I was happy to see that we exceeded your expectations. I was happy that you were impressed with our cleanliness as our housekeeping staff takes great pride in their work. We do have a great location near all Austin has to offer. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Fitzgerald
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,181 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.8 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 201 in Austin
2,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol

Address: 1701 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#1 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £99 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Austin theme when you stay with the Hampton Inn Austin hotel. Just four blocks away from the Texas State Capitol and just steps away from the University of Texas, our hotel is the prime location for your Austin visit. Enjoy free breakfast and complimentary WiFi as well as a unique Austin accommodation style, complete with graffiti and a rooftop swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin At The University/Capitol Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing