We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except for the roach and the spider”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill
Ranked #11 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a brand new Hampton Inn opened apparently in February. It still has a "new-room smell" which is the outgassing from carpet and other materials which should fully dissipate over time; the odor is of medium strength right now, and may have been the cause of my children's partial nasal stuffiness over night. The interior design of the room and common areas is very trendy and appealing. It was totally unexpected when we opened the sleeper-sofa for our fifteen-year-old and she shrieked at seeing a live roach run out (which, with shoes in hand, we successfully hunted down); our eleven-year old daughter subsequently found a 1/2" spider under the lavatory. Hopefully, this hotel does not have more instances of this problem and will be able to ramp up their housekeeping because, otherwise, it would be an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

My experience in this hotel was magnificent. They had fresh coffee 24 hours and fresh cookies at time of check in. They know how to value a customer. They also gave me my AAA discount without me even asking for it. The front desk employees was great.

Room Tip: Stay here if you are in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler321456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Austin while visiting a friend. I enjoyed the accommodations and the complimentary breakfast. I would recommend this place to family or friends and I will definitely stay here again during my next visit to Austin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Room was clean and quiet, very close to Freescale. The furnishings in the room we very new and confortable. The only downside is very few resteraunts in the area. However I was able to walk to the Austin Pizza Garden across William Cannon. I will definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Definetly recommend it. Great service, very kind and carefull with their guest, even when they not necessary need to support, they do. Room is very confortable and new. Good Size, free wifi. Free parking. Good breakfast.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lamesquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Hotels was very good, they could make sure that they serve meats on their breakfasts, because not all of us a vegetarians and the cleaning lady walked in my room and waked us up after documenting a late check out with the staff. Maybe more communication in between both teams would help the general experience. But overall I enjoy the fresh smell and new facility feel. I would stay in this Hotel if I'm on west Austin again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is pretty new and it showed - everything looked great! The beds were comfortable, the rooms had plenty of room, and the setting is pretty, too. We often stay at Hampton Inns but this has been the nicest yet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granduca Austin
#8 of 202 in Austin
349 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
514 reviews
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 202 in Austin
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill

Address: 6401 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78735-8502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Austin
#9 Business Hotel in Austin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £104 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ideal location of the Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill hotel, just minutes from downtown in southwest Austin, close to the famous Texas Hill Country. Set at the intersection of US Highways 290 and 71, our hotel in Austin, TX offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of the ‘live music capital of the world’ including the Sixth Street entertainment district, the University of Texas, and the State Capitol. Take the family for a day out at Zilker Park, Lake Travis, or the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center or enjoy some local shopping at Sunset Valley Shopping Center or Barton Creek Square Center. Make yourself comfortable in an inviting guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Get some work done at the desk or, if you prefer, use the handy lap desk. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access. Recline on the clean and fresh Hampton bed® to watch the 32-inch TV and stay refreshed with the in-room microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a rush, simply grab a free Hampton On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Reinvigorate with a workout in the fully equipped fitness center, take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, host meetings and events in one of three meeting rooms, and keep in touch at the 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing