We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inns are extremely consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill
Ranked #11 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Another very clean and consistent experience. I choose Hampton whenever possible because I know what I can expect. Neighboring room doors can be a little noisy but in all, a good experience. The only issue of this hotel is the traffic trying to get in and out of the parking lot. If you can deal with that then it is a great place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Other reviewers have mentioned that this is a new hotel and somewhat hard to find. I couldn't locate it on Google maps or Google earth and my GPS didn't show it among Austin hotels. But we had no problem finding it: we simply followed the instructions that were provided with our online reservation. Once found, the hotel is really worth the trouble. It has all the advantages of the usual Hampton Inn plus a few things. The breakfast was more extensive than we've found in some Hamptons, with one or two hot items -- often scrambled eggs or omelets -- and make-it-yourself Belgian waffles every day. The hotel, having been opened only seven months, is still new and very clean and attractive. The room was large, also very clean, and had both a microwave and a small refrigerator. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Getting in and out of the hotel is easier via the McCarty Lane entrance/exit once you've found it. It leads to William Cannon Drive which worked very well for us. There are two minor points I should probably mention: first the hotel back up to a large cemetery which was the view from our room's window. It didn't bother us at all -- the neighbors were very quiet -- but we did hear a couple of other guests asking the front desk clerk to move them to a front room where they couldn't see the graveyard. So if this is a problem for you, request a front room, or perhaps one on the first floor (if available) where you probably can't see over the fence separating the hotel and the marble. The second thing that took some getting used concerned the room's air conditioning. It was an under-window unit controlled by a wall-mounted digital thermostat. But the thermostat also had a small motion detector built into it that is undoubtedly intended to save electricity by switching the unit off when no one is present. Not a bad idea, but it caused us problems since it made it impossible to maintain a consistent, comfortable temperature. We went to sleep the first night in a cool room, only to awaken in the morning sweating. So I assume the motion detector isn't smart enough to realize sleeping guests don't move around much. It took a couple of days for us to realize the wide temperature swings were being caused by the motion detector overrulling our thermostat settings, and the only defense was to set the thermostat a few degrees lower so the room would not get too warm once it shut down the system. And that of course defeats the whole purpose, so I suspect the device doesn't save nearly as much as the management thinks. Despite those two quibbles, though, this was a very enjoyable stay and I'll gladly stay there again next time I'm in Austin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear overlook a large cemetery. It's no problem for most people, but you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderer023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel opened in Feb of 2013 and is beautiful. Typical Hampton Inn but very modern look. Easy to get to but a little hard to get out of in the morning due to traffic.
I would highly recommend this location if your business or leisure takes you to this part of Austin.
Personnel was super friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpkingtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel. The lobby had a nice modern feel. The front desk staff was terrific. I particularly liked the advertising in the elevator that assured me all the linens - including the coverlet - was washed before my arrival. The post its with same messaging was a nice touch. Overall a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I would recommend Hampton Inn, Austin. Very clean... pleasant stay. Every employee that I saw in passing greeted me with a smile and asked if we needed anything. Overall, Hampton Inn is a hotel that I would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

i was coming from a wedding rather late, and it can be a little difficult to find, but they try to mark it, so that helps. staying here was great--i only wish i had gotten to spend more time in the hotel. :) we enjoyed our stay, and the bed was very comfy, so that was nice, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our room was beautiful and the staff was extremely helpful. Our stay at the hotel was definitely one of the Best. We would stay here again for any future trips that we may go on. Big thanks to Hampton on a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 201 in Austin
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill

Address: 6401 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78735-8502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Austin
#9 Business Hotel in Austin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £104 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ideal location of the Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill hotel, just minutes from downtown in southwest Austin, close to the famous Texas Hill Country. Set at the intersection of US Highways 290 and 71, our hotel in Austin, TX offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of the ‘live music capital of the world’ including the Sixth Street entertainment district, the University of Texas, and the State Capitol. Take the family for a day out at Zilker Park, Lake Travis, or the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center or enjoy some local shopping at Sunset Valley Shopping Center or Barton Creek Square Center. Make yourself comfortable in an inviting guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Get some work done at the desk or, if you prefer, use the handy lap desk. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access. Recline on the clean and fresh Hampton bed® to watch the 32-inch TV and stay refreshed with the in-room microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a rush, simply grab a free Hampton On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Reinvigorate with a workout in the fully equipped fitness center, take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, host meetings and events in one of three meeting rooms, and keep in touch at the 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing