We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
caddo mills, United States
1 review
“great hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

great place to stay. Staff is very helpful, no matter what time or what your question is, they did everything thing they could to help out, very friendly. wonderful breakfast. The rooms are clean and large.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tanja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    132
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
211
104
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We (my wife and I) came to Austin for the wedding of one of my best friends. We stayed at the location because the Hampton closest to the wedding site had No Vacancies. The hotel was up off the road and was very quiet, the whole place appeared to be new, or at least recently remodeled. After a slow check in process the rest of the stay was nice. The room was well appointed and the A/C worked well, almost too well. The morning breakfast was fine, but the omelettes they offered looked like plastic look alikes. The fruit, cereals were all good, the milk cold. One draw back the "Multi" Juice machine produced undrinkable watery drinks, so I passed on the morning OJ. OUr bill was waiting under the door in the morning, so the check out was easy as usual. I thought the place was nice, but we really do not stay in Austin very often, so we will probably not have occasion to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bayles_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Another very clean and consistent experience. I choose Hampton whenever possible because I know what I can expect. Neighboring room doors can be a little noisy but in all, a good experience. The only issue of this hotel is the traffic trying to get in and out of the parking lot. If you can deal with that then it is a great place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Other reviewers have mentioned that this is a new hotel and somewhat hard to find. I couldn't locate it on Google maps or Google earth and my GPS didn't show it among Austin hotels. But we had no problem finding it: we simply followed the instructions that were provided with our online reservation. Once found, the hotel is really worth the trouble. It has all the advantages of the usual Hampton Inn plus a few things. The breakfast was more extensive than we've found in some Hamptons, with one or two hot items -- often scrambled eggs or omelets -- and make-it-yourself Belgian waffles every day. The hotel, having been opened only seven months, is still new and very clean and attractive. The room was large, also very clean, and had both a microwave and a small refrigerator. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Getting in and out of the hotel is easier via the McCarty Lane entrance/exit once you've found it. It leads to William Cannon Drive which worked very well for us. There are two minor points I should probably mention: first the hotel back up to a large cemetery which was the view from our room's window. It didn't bother us at all -- the neighbors were very quiet -- but we did hear a couple of other guests asking the front desk clerk to move them to a front room where they couldn't see the graveyard. So if this is a problem for you, request a front room, or perhaps one on the first floor (if available) where you probably can't see over the fence separating the hotel and the marble. The second thing that took some getting used concerned the room's air conditioning. It was an under-window unit controlled by a wall-mounted digital thermostat. But the thermostat also had a small motion detector built into it that is undoubtedly intended to save electricity by switching the unit off when no one is present. Not a bad idea, but it caused us problems since it made it impossible to maintain a consistent, comfortable temperature. We went to sleep the first night in a cool room, only to awaken in the morning sweating. So I assume the motion detector isn't smart enough to realize sleeping guests don't move around much. It took a couple of days for us to realize the wide temperature swings were being caused by the motion detector overrulling our thermostat settings, and the only defense was to set the thermostat a few degrees lower so the room would not get too warm once it shut down the system. And that of course defeats the whole purpose, so I suspect the device doesn't save nearly as much as the management thinks. Despite those two quibbles, though, this was a very enjoyable stay and I'll gladly stay there again next time I'm in Austin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear overlook a large cemetery. It's no problem for most people, but you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel opened in Feb of 2013 and is beautiful. Typical Hampton Inn but very modern look. Easy to get to but a little hard to get out of in the morning due to traffic.
I would highly recommend this location if your business or leisure takes you to this part of Austin.
Personnel was super friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpkingtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel. The lobby had a nice modern feel. The front desk staff was terrific. I particularly liked the advertising in the elevator that assured me all the linens - including the coverlet - was washed before my arrival. The post its with same messaging was a nice touch. Overall a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I would recommend Hampton Inn, Austin. Very clean... pleasant stay. Every employee that I saw in passing greeted me with a smile and asked if we needed anything. Overall, Hampton Inn is a hotel that I would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
278 reviews
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill

Property: Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill
Address: 6401 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78735-8502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Austin
#9 Family Hotel in Austin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ideal location of the Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill hotel, just minutes from downtown in southwest Austin, close to the famous Texas Hill Country. Set at the intersection of US Highways 290 and 71, our hotel in Austin, TX offers easy access to all the sights and sounds of the ‘live music capital of the world’ including the Sixth Street entertainment district, the University of Texas, and the State Capitol. Take the family for a day out at Zilker Park, Lake Travis, or the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center or enjoy some local shopping at Sunset Valley Shopping Center or Barton Creek Square Center. Make yourself comfortable in an inviting guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Get some work done at the desk or, if you prefer, use the handy lap desk. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access. Recline on the clean and fresh Hampton bed® to watch the 32-inch TV and stay refreshed with the in-room microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast. If you're in a rush, simply grab a free Hampton On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Reinvigorate with a workout in the fully equipped fitness center, take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool, host meetings and events in one of three meeting rooms, and keep in touch at the 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Austin/Oak Hill Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing