We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There is nothing special about this hotel but it was clean and comfortable. It is conveniently located just two blocks from the bars and stores on 6th street and about a 20 minute walk across the bridge to SoCo. The other good thing about this hotel were the staff, who were extremely friendly, helpful and generous. Breakfast was OK without being outstanding. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GummyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Gummy Shark:

Thank you for the recent review on your stay at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel as we value the experiences of our guests. Our goal is to create a wonderful experience to our guests, so thank you for sharing your experience wtih us.

Our location is amazing, being only blocks away from all the great bars and restaurants in the downtown area. We enjoy hearing that our guests found some fun things to do in our city. Especially that you were able to experience South Congress, one of my favorite spots.

We thank you for your feedback, and hope you come and see us again on your next visit to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    396
    83
    27
    15
See reviews for
289
313
49
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fellow Travelers:
It will be difficult to put into words the experience I had last week while staying at the Hyatt in downtown Austin. We entered the hotel as strangers and were immediately greeted with such warmth and enthusiasm it lifted our weary spirits. A woman at the front desk, Muna, smiled at us with such delight and greeted us as if we were her favorite relatives. She said that she was so happy that we were staying with Hyatt and if there was anything she could do, not to hesitate to let her know. During my stay I saw her greet people with genuine warmth and happiness time after time, coming around from behind the desk to hand each guest their key. She bathed everyone in her glowing cordiality, exhibiting for me, a woman who has traveled the world, the meaning of true hospitality. Here is a woman who is clearly in her element, a treasure in an industry in which kindness and enthusiasm cannot easily be taught. What she brings to each day of work is, if I were Ms. or Mr. Hyatt, what I would be seeking and prizing in any employee.
Yes, the hotel is nice, it's clean, it's convenient and well designed, and yes, Austin is a remarkable city, but what will stay with me, always, from my vacation there, is the reception we got each time we walked through the door and Muna was on duty. Her passion and spirit is infectious; the staff each spoke of how special she is, how much they enjoy working with her, how unique she is. And we enjoyed meeting and speaking with many others on the Hyatt staff: India, Mary, Jane, your lovely and efficient manager, Brett, the staff that served us breakfast each day: Lauren and Sergio. There's just a good feeling with good people at this place.
Of course, there is so much to do in Austin! Music, music, music and music!!! Tons of restaurants, and, if you drive a little while, some hills to climb and outstanding BBQ at Salt Lick in Driftwood, TX. If you stay here, I hope you'll have this staff, especially Muna, to come home to...I'm sure she'll be a manager in no time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodBrisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear GoodBrisket:

I have read over your review about 20 different times, each time with a bigger smile on my face as I love hearing about the way our staff left an impression on you. Thank you so very much for your kind words on each of them. I do know that Muna will be so very delighted to hear that she impacted your stay as much as she did. The rest of the staff will definitely enjoy hearing their names mentioned as well since it is very seldom so many of them are mentioned by name in one review.

I agree with you wholeheartedly. The experience in travel is about the people you meet and how they leave an impression with you days, weeks, even months after you return home.

Please know that this review will forever stay with our staff, each and every one of them. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town. We would love to say thank you in person.

Warmest regards
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a new hotel and was priced less than other older hotels in downtown Austin, perhaps because it was not as well known. Highly recommended. The overnight parking is pricey, $23, but that's around the market rate for downtown and for that money you have very convenient access directly from the garage floors to your guest level without having to stop through the lobby. The room on the 16th floor was a bit noisier than expected, though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Explosivo1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Vasanth B:

Thank you for submitting a review regarding your recent visit to the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We are pleased to hear that you will be highly recommending our hotel, that is great news. We hope that you will come and stay with us again the next time you are in the Austin area.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Austin overnight on our way to San Antonio! Hyatt Place was an amazing choice. It was close (walking distance) to 6th street and much more. We took a short cab ride over to the SoCo district and enjoyed first Thursday. The staff is truly what make this hotel beyond amazing. Everyone was so nice and helpful with recommendations and our needs. A special shout out to Jordan! He was awesome!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Christina M.

Thank you for the great review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location. We definitely have a great location if you are looking to truly experience our amazing city. I will make sure to share your review with Jordan next time he works.

Thanks again for the kind words, we appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Staff was unprofessional, assigned a handicapped room without requesting, had to relocate after seeing the room, no apologies from staff, indoor pool not heated in winter, breakfast ran out of food at 9:00 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank CyndeeAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear CyndeeAustinTexas:

I would like to say thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experiences at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. I am disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with us and would like to apologize for the issues you encountered. Our comments from our guests are extremely important to us as we value what each and every review has to say. Please know that we take this feedback very seriously and will be sharing your review with the department heads and managers of the hotel. We have notified the facilities department regarding the temperature of the pool as well as reviewed with the food and beverage staff regarding your experience with breakfast. Regarding the room placement, our staff should have definitely made every attempt to ensure you were in the correct room from the beginning.

If you do decide to give us a second try, we would love the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. Right in the heart of all the bars and events downtown. Also is just two blocks from the hike and bike trail. Perfect! The staff is super friendly and helpful. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Scott H:

Thank you so much for the great response on trip advisor about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you are enjoyed the location of our hotel. It looks like you were able to take advantage of quite a few amazing amenities our city offers.

We do hope you choose us again the next time you make your way to Austin.

Kindest regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The staff esp front desk was great, room was very nice,the parking fee was high, breakfast was ok but cold food not.,location was excellent, close to all the shopping entertainment and tourist attraction, we will probably return with friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Mark W:

Thank you for the review on our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed the rooms and the staff. We love our staff dearly, they seem to get a shout out in every single review we receive. And how nice that you enjoyed the location, we are delighted to hear that you were able to take part in some of the wonderful things our city has to offer. Thank you also for letting us know about your experience with the temperature of the breakfast. We will make sure to share your feedback with our food and beverage team.

Kind regards,
the Hyatt Place Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing