We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone was so nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Everyone at the first desk was so nice, it was an absolute pleasure staying here. They gave us suggestions for nearby restaurants, both of which were very, very good. The included breakfast was good, but finished at 9:30, which was a little early for those of us from the west coast!
A great place for walking, as the hotel s downtown, three blocks from 6th Street. A very good value. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Floribel1:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a survey on your recent stay with us at the Hyatt palce Austin Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Our staff receives so many great compliments and they have such a great pride in our city, they are not afraid to share with our guests the great places to eat and see.

And thank you for the feedback on the breakfast timing. We do understand that this can be early for our west coast guests and will make sure to send this to our management team to consider. Thank you again for the wonderful reply and we will look forward to seeing you again.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,510 - 1,516 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Loved my stay at the Hyatt Place Downtown. Great location, excellent service, amazing staff + such a lovely room. Truly was the perfect place to be during SXSW. I'm definitely booking again next year ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Tamara D:

Thank you very much for the great review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time out to let us know about your stay during SXSW. We will look forward to having you back the next time you are in our great city.

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed here for SXSW, and the location was perfect - central and made it easy to get to all the venues and home again after long days.Staff were very knowledgeable about the local area in terms of directions, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Ben L:

Thank you so much for the great response in Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown.

Hope to see you again on your next trip to our city.

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here during SXSW. It is incredibly convenient - just a few blocks from the convention center, 6th street and most of the other venues. The rooms are nicely kept and comfortable. Not the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in but if's perfect if you want convenience and don't want to pay the rates at the Four Seasons. You should note, however, that there's no full time kitchen or room service. Not an issue in Austin with all the great restaurants and food carts! Really a perfect place if your looking for a convenient, clean, comfortable and nicely kept hotel near the convention center! You could hear music from one of the nearby venues but it generally stopped by midnight, and hey, it was SXSW! What do you expect?!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Jajoseph:

Thank you so much for your recent review on our property. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience and will be sure to share your experience with our staff.

We are sorry to hear that you were not told about our 24 hour food options, as our gallery kitchen offers food 24 hours a day. We also have our grab and go options in the case by the front desk as well that offers sandwiches, salads and bakery items for those moments when you need something on the go.

It did sound like you were able to enjoy the festival, thank you so much for sharing with us.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Austin.
the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for South by Southwest event. The location was perfect and the staff was very nice and helpful. The room and facilities were also very good. I thought the complimentary breakfast could have been a little tastier, but it was ok, with a good selection. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Bob M:

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us during SXSW, we appreciate you taking the time out to write a review. We will be sure to share your review with our staff as they love hearing when our guests appreciate the service they give. Our staff take so much pride in their hotel, they will be delighted to read about your experience.

We look forward to your return to us the next time you are in the Austin area.
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here during SXSW 2014. Even during all the madness of the conference/festival, my room was always clean, and the staff went above and beyond to help us. They were attentive and I even got a special note from the housekeeping staff. The free wifi was moderately fast given it was free. I wish the bar downstairs had more options (they didn't carry ginger ale as a mixer for example), but honestly that's me struggling to come up with a way this place could've been better. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Rashida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Rashida B:

Thank you so much for the great comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We hope you enjoyed your time at the festival. We appreciate all the feedback on the staff and the rooms. And also the feedback on the ginger ale, we will see if we can get your comments to our food and beverage team and consider it as an addition!!

We hope to see you on your next visit to the Austin Area.

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here during SXSW. It is incredibly convenient - just a few blocks from the convention center, 6th street and most of the other venues. The rooms are nicely kept and comfortable. Not the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in but if's perfect if you want convenience and don't want to pay the rates at the Four Seasons. You should note, however, that there's no full time kitchen or room service. Not an issue in Austin with all the great restaurants and food carts! Really a perfect place if your looking for a convenient, clean, comfortable and nicely kept hotel near the convention center! You could hear music from one of the nearby venues but it generally stopped by midnight, and hey, it was SXSW! What do you expect?!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Jeff J:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted on your recent stay with us during the SXSW festival. We are thrilled to read about all the wonderful feedback you had from the location to the guest rooms. And being less than a block from the Austin Convention Center, we are in such a great part of the downtown area.

Regarding the food options, we do have food available in our grab n go section of the hotel along with food from our guest kitchen made to order 24 hours a day. Guests can order food anytime of the day and come down and pick it up at the front desk. We will discuss this with our gallery hosts as I feel this was something that was not shared with you at check in.

We hope to see you the next time you are in the Austin area.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £81 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing