We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for key Austin destinations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for key Austin destinations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown was the perfect choice for our first trip to Austin. I'm a very active woman in my fifties and was accompanied by my 20-something daughters and my teenage son. Free breakfast and free WiFi -- my favorite words in a hotel description!!

I did not rent a car; we took cabs to and from the airport. We walked to UT Austin for my son's college tour, visited the LBJ Presidential Library, saw LeeAnn Rimes at the Moody theatre, went to 6th street and the Esther's Follies comedy show (very funny!!), visited the trendy SoCo (South Congress) shopping area and Lady Bird Lake, and spent the day at the excellent Bullock Texas History Museum...all easily accessible on foot from this central spot if you are walker. There are at least 7 restaurants, including a wine bar, sushi, Mexican, steakhouse, and Thai, within a half block and the Capitol Building is less than a mile. Famous 6th Street nightlife is three short blocks away, with live music, bars and limitless eateries.

The room was spacious (though not as big as in the pictures). The gym was well equipped and is open 24 hours...plenty of yoga mats, cardio equipment with individual TVs (bikes, treadmills, ellipticals), free weights, a pulley weight system and Pilates balls/BOSU. The pool is small but pristine, with plenty of towels and tables with chairs for relaxing after a dip. Maids came to tidy the room even on a day my kids slept in until very late afternoon! Breakfast provided a good selection of cereals and hot oatmeal, breads, fruit, juices, coffee and teas and egg dishes. They did have yogurt, though I always wish hotels would offer plain, unsweetened yogurt since I do not eat sugar (I'm Paleo, so I also wish they'd offer eggs not on top of breads...they did on some days but not all.) The staff is very good, friendly and efficient, though on one or two occasions looked a little clueless when I asked, for example, how to get to the Moody Theatre (it is one of the main attractions in the city!) They did make superb suggestions for spots to visit, for example Lucy in Disguise Costume store in SoCo, and restaurant recommendations. They are happy to provide maps and directions. There are four computer stations in the lobby with printers, handy for getting those boarding passes ready.

This is a lively hotel with plenty of action in and out, so if you're looking for seclusion, this isn't it. But we all slept well on the comfortable beds and had a great time in this vibrant city!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineyardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Vineyardlady:

What an absolutely amazing review!! If we could, we would give your rating 5 STARS!!! I just loved reading through all the descriptions of the city from my favorite costume shop ever to the South Congress shopping district to the Capital. And it appears you did so many wonderful things in such a short time, we are jealous we couldn't come with you.

I will say that we will be sharing your amazing review with our staff during our next staff meeting.

We would love to have you return the next time you come to Austin.

Kindest regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    360
    71
    23
    13
See reviews for
267
291
44
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had a great experience at the Hyatt Place in Downtown Austin. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, and positive! I would recommend it to anyone, but it's even more ideal if looking to fit six in a room with the pullout couch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank laurahabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Laurahabbs:

Thank you so much for the great review on the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be curteous and helpful. We will be sure to share your review with them at our next staff meeting.

Kindest regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Hyatt Place Austin. The hotel is located in downtown Austin--close to the capital, the river, 6th street, and the convention center. The staff were excellent, and the room was very nice, with not only a king size bed, but also a separate area of the room that had a sofa and table--you could entertain if you wanted to. I loved my stay. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Michelle E:

We would like to say thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hotel It sounds like you had fun in our wonderful city.

And thank you for saying it was one of the nicest hotels you have stayed at. Our guest rooms have so many great features including the cozy corner with a pull out sofa bed and the Hyatt Grand Bed.

We hope to see you again on your next trip down to Austin.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We came to Austin for a wedding. We chose the Hyatt Place to be with our other friends who were in town for the wedding. It was a wonderful experience! Our accommodations were excellent and all of the staff were so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank angelag595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Angelag595:

What a wonderful review you wrote about your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review while visiting for your friends wedding. Hopefully you enjoyed the city and were able to get out and see some of the amazing attractions we have.

We will be sure to share your reviews with the staff as they love to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us.

Hope to see you again.
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardyston, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful staff, genuine team! At every point of contact, I seemed to run into a team member that was genuine, and enjoyed provideing great service and interaction. Had good experiences from breakfast to in meeting room service, and drinks and evening food and beverage as well. The amount of traininig this team received was obvious in every step of the day. Wonderful place to visit, and hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Robert W:

What a nice review, I truly enjoyed reading your comments on your stay and the experience you had with our staff. Our staff recieves so many wonderful reviews, we will be sure to share this with them as well. They take such pride in our hotel and no matter who you encounter, you can tell that they love their job!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Austin.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is ideally placed if you want to explore Austin. Easy walking distance of 6th street, South Congress and Red River Street.

Hotel itself is marvellous. Large, clean rooms with free wifi (quick connection). Breakfast is buffet style and was very nice. Indoor heated pool and well equipped gym.

Staff are extremely friendly and will do anything they can to help. We were checked in by Muna and it was the most helpful and welcoming check in we have had.

Hotel is modern, clean and gives you everything you need. Definitely stay here if you visit Austin!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J12HEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear J12HEB:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on our hotel and the staff. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience and how you enjoyed the service you received. We love to share reviews like this with our staff, they will certainly like reading the comments, especially Muna.

We will look forward to your next visit to the Austin area.

the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is great; the valet is fantastic and prompt, the views are good, you are right next to the bats that fly out from under the bridge on warm nights (don't worry, they don't bite). There is a little grocery across the street that is well stocked with great pizza and sandwiches. The breakfast at the hotel is basically flawless.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Andrew M:

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for all your feedback on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate you commenting on the hotel and our complimentary breakfast buffet, with all the amazing amenities we have in the hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed them all.

Royal Blue accross the street is a wonderful stop if you should need anything while you are in town. We wil make sure to share your review with them as well.

Hope to see you on your next trip to the downtown area.

The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing