We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel With Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just spent 4 nights here on business. The hotel is all around one of he best I've stayed in in a long time.

It's new so that helps as the appearance is very modern. My room was fantastic. For a few dollars extra I had upgraded to a corner room. Wow...it was nearly floor to ceiling glass on 2 walls. Wonderful for sunlight and viewing the vibrant area of Austin. Bed was very comfortable, great linens and pillows. Housekeeping was great too

Lobby seemed to have staff crawling over staff, each of hem very professional and very friendly. It was wonderful to be greeted each morning by so many cheerful people.

If there was anything about the stay that could have been improved it would have been check in. I arrived after 10 on a Sunday night and it seemed the front desk person was also he bartender. I stood looking at an empty front desk for nearly 10 minutes. Not a great first impression yet the balance of the stay made up for this 1 hiccup.

Room Tip: Upgrade to corner on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Darren K, we appreciate your comments, excellent review and feedback. Good call on the Corner View King room; we also think it's windows and views of downtown are the best! Sunday night must have been busy at the bar and we're sorry for the short delay in check-in. Our staff are trained in a variety of roles so that they can not only check you in, but make you a coffee or mix you a drink while providing the best sight-seeing recommendations in town. Thank you for the 5 out of 5 rating, we truly appreciate the endorsement from a respected contributor such as yourself!
With Sincere Appreciation, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,485 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I come to Austin at least once a month for business, always staying elsewhere. Had a meeting here and the organization booked us here. How delightful! This is a lovely hotel, very well planned and comfortable! The rooms are sparse, but very comfortable and each has a nice seating area! The location is prime and great amenities. Really thinking of bunking here more often!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

We appreciate your review of our hotel and we're glad to hear that you were impressed by our property and amenities! We hope that your meeting here was successful and that you have a new home-away-from-home here in downtown Austin.
Kind Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was full of business travelers when we were there, yet the staff treated our family of four with kindness and attention. The front desk staff gave us an excellent recommendation of a nearby restaurant for dinner and the breakfast staff was extremely outgoing and nice. The location is a perfect spot in the middle of Austin to see and do all the city highlights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Jennifer V, we appreciate your comments and review! We are happy to hear that the staff not only provided the perfect recommendations but that your family felt welcomed and comfortable. We do hope that you enjoyed the sights of Austin and that our location within the heart of downtown was perfect for your sightseeing adventures!
We hope to see you again soon, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The good
Great location, restaurants by the dozens.
Wooow rooms, comfy, cozy, excellent tech. Exc bed, good shower. BIG high tech TV.
Grrrreat, happy staff, good reactive car jockey.
Good breakfast

The bad
Nothing

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you Rybremnazoe for the great review of our hotel! It's great to see a 5 out of 5 endorsement from an Top Contributor such as yourself. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Austin.
Best Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Property is located near a good selection of restaurants and convenience stores. Clean facilities and property overall. Nice quiet room. The complimentary breakfast was a nice benefit. Loved the staff who universally made us feel welcome and valued.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Stuart R:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are truly pleased to share your kind words with our staff. They take such pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and the property overall, I know they will be very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

And thank you for the great feedback on the breakfast and the room, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the great amenities we offer.

We do hope to see you next time you are in our great city.
Kindest Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Place in Austin for a conference. The location was perfect being about a block away from the convention center. The staff were excellent, very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and well kept. There were many restaurants on each of the corners so there was lots to choose from if I wanted. I tried the Bone Marrow Butter Popcorn at Max's Wine Dive. It was amazing!! I highly recommend it. The hotel was also located within walking distance of Rainey Street and 6th Street where the action is. If/when I get back to Austin, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Jennifer G, thank you for your great review and recommendation at Max's Wine Dive--it's one of our favorites as well! We look forward to your next stay with us here in Austin; we hope it will be soon.
Kind Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a conference. Walking distance to the center was perfect. Hotel was clean and room was comfortable and very clean. Staff at all different times of day were all so nice and friendly that they made you feel at home. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Sandy M, we thank you for the 5 out of 5 ratings on all categories... this is a compliment to our entire team! We hope the next time you're in town for a conference, business meeting, weekend getway or vacation, that you find your stay with us just as enjoyable as the first.
Best Regards, The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £81 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing