We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty generic, but served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #15 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here in order to attend a concert at the Austin Music Hall, which was about a 7 minute walk up the street. For us, location was wonderful. It was very easy to access from the highway (we drove from Dallas) and easy to get around the city with GPS.

Valet parking here can be nightmarish...lots of long waits to park and leave keys as well as to retrieve the car when leaving. The valet stand had 3 or 4 staff working it, but it still wasn't enough.

Most of the hotel staff from the sidewalk to the check-in appeared to be college aged kids, and in fact most of the guests were too the weekend we were there. Finding ear plugs already provided on the bedside table had me fearing the worst, but we never needed them, which was a nice surprise!

The hotel is pretty big and because of that has an "every floor looks the same, and all guests blend together" feel to it. But that comes with a big chain hotel.

The room was clean, quiet and roomy enough for us. Could have used a bit more counterspace in the bathroom, but everything there was fine too.

Breakfast buffet was robust and good but hard to find a table both mornings we were there.

While this was a pretty generic hotel experience, we'd probably return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear you encountered delays with Valet service and please know that we are making efforts to limit the wait time. We thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,355 - 1,361 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night. It was a good experience, and I plan stay here again the next time I come to Austin.

The (very) good: I was able to make my reservation the same day at an excellent rate. The location is super convenient to 6th St., the convention center and Zilker park. The staff--from the valet to the front desk--was super friendly. The design of the hotel was modern throughout. The hotel seems recently built--the rooms and furniture seemed new and not very worn. The rooms were a decent size. I especially appreciated that my standard room had a desk area as well as a comfortable couch area. Our room on the 15th floor faced I-35 in the distance, and the view was good. The elevator got us to the 15th floor quickly every time. The valet had asked me when I arrived when I planned to be leaving at check-out, and the next morning, my car was waiting curbside right on time.

Breakfast was included in my room rate, but I went out for all my meals, so I can't comment on it beyond sharing that other guests seemed happy with it, based on comments I heard in the elevator and lobby.

The (not so) bad: If I had any criticism of the hotel, it is that the walls seemed a tad thin. When I got back from 6th St. about 3 a.m. and settled down to sleep, I could hear the young couple in the next room at their, um, peak volume. It was not anywhere near loud enough to keep me from getting to sleep, my buddy who shared the room didn't even notice it, and had I gone to sleep at a reasonable hour, I would not have noticed it, either, but if you're hyper sensitive to noise like I am, you might want to mention that to the front desk when arriving so they can factor that in to your room selection.

Beyond that, if you have feather allergies, you might want to ask for an allergen-free room. I got the impression the pillows were down (I'm not 100% sure though).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THX1138A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Clean and comfy hotel. Spacious rooms. Minutes from downtown. Staff very friendly. Internet worked great. Nice business office. Morning breakfast was complimentary and was good. Far enough away you don't hear the music from 6th st. Lots of quality restaurants across the street from hotel. Also store located across the street in case you want beverages or snacks for the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff at this hotel. From delivering my suit to my room (I had left it in my car prior to valeting it) to the genuine level of concern/assistance I received when I thought I may have car trouble, the staff at this hotel takes customer service to another level! The room/bathroom were immaculate, the breakfast spread had variety and delicious options (right down to the tea choices), and the valet staff were a pleasure to work with!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Bhaveeni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We are very pleased to hear your were taken care of and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

In town for National PTA Convention with delegates from all over the world. All the staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and welcomed you in every time you entered. Breakfast (Kitchen Skillet) was 5 steps above Continental & 1 step below Breakfast Buffet, I didn't have to make my own Waffles..Woohoo! Gallery Dining in hotel (24 hours service, a step above room service (some of the same foods as Applebee's), Very clean rooms with Flat screen TV, sitting area in every room, air condition worked well and very nice beds with great pillows. Location is great for a Downtown Hotel, surrounded by many eatery establishments, bicycle carriage rides, and local sight seeing places. I have some new friends that are the best workers at this hotel, thanks for all that you do on a daily basis for your clients.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Norvel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Norvel J, we are so THANKFUL for your kind words! We are very happy to know that not only did you enjoy our hotel but that our staff took excellent care of you. We will be sure to share your comments with the team.

We look forward to your next trip to Austin,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Place for a convention. It was very conveniently located next to the convention center. It was a very short and easy walk. The rooms were wonderful. I loved the free wifi and the breakfast was great. Everything was clean. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the excellent rating and for sharing your comments-- we truly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the first person who greets you, the staff here makes you feel welcome and is dedicated to making sure your stay is easy. The breakfast was good and hot - the food quickly replenished. Even though it was crowded, the tables were cleaned and there was always somewhere to sit. The hotel is close to everything - easy walk to the convention center. Sheets are nice, rooms are big, clean and new. I loved the towels. Overall, it was a perfect stay. I was here on business but would bring my family back because of its location, cleanliness and friendly staff. PS - the pool is indoors which is good for heat but bad for the tan. ; )

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you Sarah G for the very kind words and excellent review! We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed the hotel enough to bring your family back. Your comments will be shared with our team and we appreciate your choice of the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 202 in Austin
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £140 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing