We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Short break. Ideal location to visit all the attractions in Austin by walking. Plus ready access to 6th street for bars and restaurants. Excellent spacious and modern rooms. Good buffet breakfast spread. Valet parking service. The reception and door staff are friendly and helpful. Free wifi is also provided and it is responsive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
EllisNic, we thank you for the outstanding review and for sharing your comments. As a Top Contributor, we imagine you have experienced many hotels in a variety of locations and we're pleased to know that we received the best-possible rating! Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    396
    83
    27
    15
See reviews for
289
313
49
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I travel to Austin frequently for business and stay at the Hyatt Place every time. Location is fantastic, just a few blocks away from famous 6th St and surrounded by great restaurants. The rooms are your standard Hyatt Place rooms - spacious with a couch and desk. Free breakfast and WiFi and a bar serving specialty Starbucks coffee in the AM and a full bar starting early afternoon. Hotel also has small indoor pool and a fitness room with cardio equipment and weights. Service is fantastic with the staff being extremely attentive to your needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Downtown location allows for you to walk to various restaurants and bars. Also walkable to the famous bat bridge.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I travel to Austin 1-2 times per month on business, and this hotel has reasonable (expense department approved) rates but includes a lot of value such as the free restaurant quality breakfast, valet parking complimentary / standard, new and renovated rooms, on-site bar and restaurant, and location right in the heart of downtown Austin. Sleep quality is great, but be warned that the blackout curtains can make you miss your early morning meetings! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank wishinghard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review and great comments. We are happy to know that you have chosen the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown as your hotel of choice. On your next visit, please be sure to ask for a wake-up call so that you don't miss any more of those morning meetings!

Safe Travels and we hope to see you again soon,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were on the 11th floor corner room. The view was awesome. The room was clean and comfortable. The room layout was inviting and spacious. Nice TV. Beautiful bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. The exercise room has a good quality treadmill and exercise equipment.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here for only one night, rather than staying near the airport. Check-in was fast and friendly. The room was clean, up to date, and a good size for a family of four.

The extra touch that I really appreciated was when we came back to the hotel after a dinner out. My boys saw the cupcakes and cookies and were hooked. I asked if by any chance they had milk or chocolate milk. Muna stepped up and really took care of my boys! She made one warm chocolate milk for my youngest, and a cold one for my older son. She warmed up the cookie for us and smiled so so brightly, my boys couldn't stop talking about how great the hotel was.

Breakfast in the morning was also above average compared to other hotels that have a no additional charge breakfast. It was nice to see the manager stepping in to help customers with refills, clearing tables, and greeting guests, as the breakfast areas at other hotels frequently get overrun with dirty dishes. The only slight disappointment at breakfast was the mixed fruit suffered a bit from being mixed--it kind of all tasted of grapefruit and I don't like grapefruit!

Although it was valet-only parking, it was a benefit for my family. The valets were courteous during our 4 interactions and were really helpful at checkout as 4 of them swooped in to help us get our 4 large suitcases and other vacation gear into the car.

This was a stress-free stay with no complaints and I can definitely be high-maintenance.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment the valet took my keys to the time they returned my car, it was a great experience. ALL of the employees were very helpful, everything was clean and it was an awesome stay. Rooms were big and the meals were very tasty. I'd recommend a stay at this Hyatt Place to anyone and will stay there again, myself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Kim for the recommendation and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, the service and our outstanding team. We'll be sure to share your comments with the staff and we appreciate your kind words.

Hope to see you again soon,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at the hotel. The staff was superb. I was immediately recognized as a Hyatt Gold Passport Member and my room was upgraded to a corner room with a fantastic view (The checkin host "surprised me" and asked me to call down when I got to my room). I was very pleased with my stay at this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your sharing your experience online and for the outstanding review. We appreciate your loyal business and are pleased to know that you enjoyed our beautiful Corner View King rooms.

We hope to see you again soon,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtwon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing