We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and service - ideal base for Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and service - ideal base for Austin”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for a work conference and the location was ideal to reach the conference centre and downtown Austin including 6th St.

Room and rest of the hotel was very clean and modern.

While the breakfast options were not as extensive as some hotels I thought it was still very good and would rather have this included in room rates than pay a high price for breakfast each day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with any request I had and always greeted me in a friendly manner when passing through reception.

Had a busy week so didn't get time to explore the fitness facilities.

I would say the hotel is idea for business and families. While couples could have a nice trip here the standardized room designs and lack of romantic restaurant mean I would not describe it as a romantic hotel as such. That said, there are lots of great restaurants within a short walk.

Tip - check out the Royal Blue Grocery across the road if you want some delicious and healthy snacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    396
    83
    27
    15
See reviews for
290
313
49
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here four nights and enjoyed it. Nice, clean, friendly hotel in a great location. Good breakfast (for a free hotel type). Very nice room, great view, very clean, comfortable beds, nice in room coffee set up.
If you want room service and a full service hotel stay elsewhere, but the bar area and hotel in general is first rate in its class.

The only two negative comments are: (1) valet parking only and a bit cumbersome. (2) no outside area at all to be outdoors. Nice pool and work out facility, but totally indoors.

I would stay here again when in Austin.

Room Tip: High room on east side will give you a better view (ours was very nice).
See more room tips
Green Features: As it is a newer facility, it seems very green oriented.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had to stay here for a week for work last month. I had to go to the convention center, which was only two blocks away. The front desk staff was great and very accommodating. The free breakfast buffet had egg white sandwiches and lots of fruit, which I appreciated. If you need to grab a quick lunch or dinner, royal blue across the street was wonderful- I ended up eating here most days!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having stayed at a neighboring hotel before, I wanted to try Hyatt Place due to the perfect location. I've reviewed many hotels and this undoubtedly was my best hotel experience.

Location: 3 blocks to the Congress Bat Bridge; Across the street from more than 7 fine and casual dining options; Safe and beautiful area to walk on hot summer evenings.

Free Breakfast: Expansive breakfast included options for gluten-free dining (oatmeal, chez cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, and alike). All was very tasty, presented in a clean dining room by caring staff that attended to any of your needs.

Staff: Truly amazing - especially, Mary - who greet you with a smile and are always offering to help you. Having just had wrist surgery they jumped up to take things from my hand and always opened doors and alike. Top service from manager, valet drivers and front desk staff. Thank you!

Parking: Although they only have valet, it is less expensive than many of the similar hotels in the area and the valet were so quick to get your car. Free in-and-out and FAST.

Rooms: New, crisp, clean with lots of room and beautiful walk-in shower. Forgot something - call the front desk for most anything you left behind. I was on 12th floor and elevators were quick - and secure, requiring your room key to access elevator floors. And, I can't forget to mention the free in-room wifi with good service.

Highly recommend this hotel in downtown Austin!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttshutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, tx
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very good service. Clean facility. Room accommodation was very nice with very good quality bed and bedding, excellent internet service, in-room single serving coffee maker, refrigerator. Bathroom very nice. Room was quiet. Parking in Austin sucks, but the valet service is great and quick. Location in walking distance to so many excellent venues.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Located in beautiful downtown Austin, the was a great stay! The hotel is brand new with great rooms. Great lobby & service, this really felt like a really upscale hotel. My only gripe is the $29 parking, but what can you do?!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CroatianChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What more can you ask for? Great for families!!! Came for business, but notice a lot of families. I would highly recommend for that. Not Couples so much. This location is near just about everything!!! Convention Ctr is steps away!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danali M, Sales Coordinator at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing