We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had no complaints. The room was large and quiet. The staff was very friendly and even though the valet could be better, they were very upfront about the delays that could be expected at checkout with the valet service. You knew what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    379
    75
    25
    15
See reviews for
275
301
46
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved our one night stay here. We were in town for the Michael Buble concert (awesome) at the Frank Erwin Center. Jasmine and the entire front desk Sunday afternoon, August 3rd was extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was very nice and clean and the sofa and room partition is a nice touch. We were able to walk 2 blocks to Eddie V's restaurant (great also) and take a $10 cab to the concert from there. We walked back from the Frank Erwin center and it was a very easy 30 minute walk. There was plenty of good food to choose from at the complimentary breakfast area. Of course like others I will say $29 is a pretty high price to park a car but it does seem to be the norm for the area. We will definitely stay again when we are in Austin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We will share your comments with Jasmine and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was by far the best customer service we gave had. Travis took care of everything and was happy to do so. This level of customer service is almost unheard of now days. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the Austin area. Clean modern rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcollins70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in the Austin Hyatt Place for 9 days while managing a convention in the nearby convention center. My room was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The front desk staff were highly trained professionals. I would opt to stay in this hotel again, even over the higher priced full service hotels nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you Karen M for your kind words and excellent review! It was our pleasure to have you choose the Hyatt Place and we look forward to your next event.

Sincerely,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for a work conference and the location was ideal to reach the conference centre and downtown Austin including 6th St.

Room and rest of the hotel was very clean and modern.

While the breakfast options were not as extensive as some hotels I thought it was still very good and would rather have this included in room rates than pay a high price for breakfast each day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with any request I had and always greeted me in a friendly manner when passing through reception.

Had a busy week so didn't get time to explore the fitness facilities.

I would say the hotel is idea for business and families. While couples could have a nice trip here the standardized room designs and lack of romantic restaurant mean I would not describe it as a romantic hotel as such. That said, there are lots of great restaurants within a short walk.

Tip - check out the Royal Blue Grocery across the road if you want some delicious and healthy snacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here four nights and enjoyed it. Nice, clean, friendly hotel in a great location. Good breakfast (for a free hotel type). Very nice room, great view, very clean, comfortable beds, nice in room coffee set up.
If you want room service and a full service hotel stay elsewhere, but the bar area and hotel in general is first rate in its class.

The only two negative comments are: (1) valet parking only and a bit cumbersome. (2) no outside area at all to be outdoors. Nice pool and work out facility, but totally indoors.

I would stay here again when in Austin.

Room Tip: High room on east side will give you a better view (ours was very nice).
See more room tips
Green Features: As it is a newer facility, it seems very green oriented.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had to stay here for a week for work last month. I had to go to the convention center, which was only two blocks away. The front desk staff was great and very accommodating. The free breakfast buffet had egg white sandwiches and lots of fruit, which I appreciated. If you need to grab a quick lunch or dinner, royal blue across the street was wonderful- I ended up eating here most days!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing