We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room and location, could hear the neighbors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Ranked #13 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good room and location, could hear the neighbors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious with a couch and fridge, but we could not find a safe in the room. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Overall the hotel was a good deal and the location downtown was great. We could walk to 6th street easily. The only down side were the thin walls. We could here the group of guys next to us. They were being rowdy and woke us up. Other points: The hotel has a good breakfast included, but there no self parking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank simchah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for the outstanding review. Please note that while we do not have in-room safes, we do have lock-boxes available at the Front Desk.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    360
    71
    23
    13
See reviews for
267
291
44
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Large room with a seating area which gave a sense of space. No drapes just blinds which made the room sparse and bare. Beds were comfortable but bedding was of a lower quality. The room was a little dark with a small window and just lamps. Bathroom was bright, quite large and modern - and very clean. Breakfast was included in the price and had quite a good variety. Staff were very pleasant and incredibly helpful from the reception staff, valet staff and manager who greeted us with bottled water when we waited for our car.The hotel is in a good location for plenty of restaurants nearby and access for the highway. The only thing that would prevent us from staying here again is the A/C. It's incredibly noisy and blows directly onto one of the beds. We stayed 4 nights and I don't think any of us slept properly the time we were there. Shame as otherwise it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshbabeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and your concern. We certainly regret any discomfort or frustration caused during your stay by the air conditioning. We do take guest comments seriously and will take the opportunity to improve our services whenever possible.

We do appreciate the excellent rating and trust that you had an enjoyable time in Austin.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I checked into the hotel, got a room on the 11th floor, and hear construction noise right away. The place is surrounded by construction as you try to get into the front door. I went to the front desk and requested a full refund and went somewhere else. They did offer to comp the room totally, but I would rather stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask what floors have construction and stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baybekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns; we are sorry to hear that our hotel and location did not meet your needs. As Austin is a quickly growing city, we do understand that at times construction in the nearby area is ongoing. We are sorry for the inconvenience but do hope that you are willing to stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel overall was great. I stayed on the 15th floor and had a great view of downtown Austin. The room was very comfortable with plenty of space to put things away if you are there for a few nights or more. My bed was comfortable, and the room looked brand new. The downside... The free breakfast was not up to par (Stale and bland food), but there are tons of great restaurants within walking distance, and who stays in a hotel for the breakfast. I will say one of the best features of this hotel was the staff. they were exceedingly friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend staying if you have business, or perhaps pleasure in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, we thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your excellent review. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast options failed to meet your expectations but hope that you did enjoy the convenient option of free daily breakfast. We thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The HVAC unit was loud and blowing directly on the bed all night. It would loudly turn on and off throughout the night and blow directly on the bed which kept me up. When checking out they took $15 off a $200 bill. Horrible hotel and guest services.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt Place and thank you for providing this feedback. We are always looking to improve and feedback from our guests can help us do just that. Please know that your comments regarding air conditioning are being addressed and we hope to continue delivering a quality customer experience that will make you want to return and stay with us again. We hope you will give us another chance to prove how dedicated we are to customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great place to stay and extremely courteous staff. Walking distance to 6th street and congress bridge for the bats. Would prefer to self park rather than valet. Great value overall. Staff offered us water during our visit in Aug, outside temp was 104. Glad to have the water.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you were well taken care of and that you enjoyed your time in Austin. Safe travels and we look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have never had a better hotel experience anywhere. Every single member of the staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We were always greeted enthusiastically and everyone made it a point to make sure our needs were being met at all times. After this visit, I will not even consider staying in another hotel while visiting downtown Austin. My thanks to all of the staff that were involved in our stay there. Well done!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler A, Manager at Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Austin Downtown and for the review. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with the team.

Best Regards,
The Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Address: 211 E 3rd St, Austin, TX 78701-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown, located in the heart of Austin Texas, is steps from the Austin Convention Center, 6th Street entertainment district and University of Texas. Guests of Hyatt Place Austin Downtown will enjoy beautifully-appointed guestrooms featuring Hyatt Grand beds, 42" flat-screen HDTVs, free WiFi and complimentary breakfast. Our downtown Austin hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, pool, event space and guest kitchen serving made-to-order entrees and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing