We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by our room since the price was so great. Only one issue we had was diffuculty with finding it with our GPS, but we called the hotel and they helped us out. We used the pool only once but it was nice and refreshing. The room was great and the bed was so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    64
    29
    20
    20
See reviews for
56
85
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Like everyone else has said, rooms are really decent for such a low price. Baths are pretty small but showers worked well. Room itself was pretty good size. I recently stayed at a Hyatt for 5 times the amount I paid here and the rooms were not any bigger and the beds not any more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Our first room had a terrible smell coming from the bath area. They were very nice and moved us no question. The second room was clean but I still didn't want my toddler touching too much. The fabric on the furniture was stained and the facility is just really old. I don't think I'd return, rather I'll just spend $20 more and stay somewhere newer and cleaner! Staff was very, very nice!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights for two reasons...It was close to my daughter's home and the reviews. It is an older building, however the rooms have all been redone. I was not disappointed at all. It is a non-smoking Inn, very clean, larger pool and despite being on the highway, VERY quiet. Jay, the owner, checked me in, showed me my room and offered to carry my bags up to my room. Whenever I saw him over the next two days, he was always busy and always had a smile, wonderful attitude and asked if I needed anything. Rooms are average size, but the beds are WONDERFUL!!!!! Will stay here again my next trip to Austin to see my daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyx325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

From the time I called to make a reservation to the point of check out, the service was phenomenal. Jay was the friendliest person I have ever associated with at a hotel before. Even when I checked in at 11:15 PM, he was still willing to go above and beyond for me. I would recommend this hotel always, especially considering the value. The rooms are underrated, they're just as good as any 4 star hotel. Overall, it was a magnificent stay filled with incredible service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotthiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Newlyweds on our honeymoon! We saw the reviews, thought it was a good value, and stopped. The room was very nice, and there is something special about a place with not only a built in pool, but awesome Mexican food as well with Los Jaliscenses in front. The owner Jay was incredibly nice, and I'd recommend this place a million times!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursahenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My 80 yr. old mother and myself traveled from Sayre, Pennsylvania to the Gulf Coast, our home town. We got lost and had to find lodging for the night, and by God's grace he led us to the Rodeway Inn on US 290 East in Austin, TX. Everything about the hotel was appealing, immaculate, quite, cool, clean pool, everything and more than what we were needing!

BUT, the MOST important thing I can say, I can only pray that my words do him justice (still brings tears to my eyes, and hope for humanity. That person was JAY!! He went above and beyond the call of his profession!! After our first night stay we headed to the Airport, however I missed our flight by two minutes, due to the fact I have NO sense of direction, had to return rental car and my elderly mother is barely able to get to a wheel chair. Needless to say I was almost hysterical, at my wits end, knowing all the surrounding Hotels would be extremely expensive!

Then I received a follow-up call/message from JAY, he asked if he could be of further assistance, he turned out to be a prayer answered! He suggested the cheapest form of transportation (shuttle) and asked if we wanted to return to the same hotel, "I was speechless, I answered yes please, but told him my brain was mush, I was elated not to spend night in an Airport, earliest flight not leaving until next day at 1PM." He answered, don't worry I'll make some calls, and call you back. He was honest, sincere and never frustrated with me.

What made JAY so special in my 57 yr. old heart was that I had never bothered to mention to him that I have multiple sclerosis, after traumatic airport news, my voice was slurring, my legs were weak, and worst of all I had brain fog. He did what I'm sure he does for all his customers, helped in everyway he could and not even knowing I could have ended up in the hospital! When we got back to hotel I took a long restful swim in the clean pool, he had found the closest room possible. My mother and I got the most restful sleep, I felt like I was at home and my own son had made sure I was safe.

The Hotel was very nice and I have stayed at the Marriott and other so called finer establishments, but they don't have JAY! It is my prayer that anyone who reads this realizes how few awesome managers/employees can be found that even want to work. JAY would be an asset and highly increased revenue for any Marriot, Hiltons, Sheltons!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mari774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget Inn Capitol
#132 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 203 in Austin
162 reviews
The Highlander Austin
#122 of 203 in Austin
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites Austin Downtown North is a newly renovated property located near 2 major highways in Austin, Texas. Our property boasts 49 spacious king and queen suites including one which is a fully furnished apartment style room including a dining and family room perfect for a family getaway. A complimentary breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 everyday with the added hot breakfast option available on the weekends. Guests rooms come equipped with FREE WiFi, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing