We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Austin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent budget accommodation”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here during the SXSW Music Festival, traveling from the UK, so the whole of Austin was charging a fortune for accommodation. The Roadway Inn & Suites was the affordable option for us.
We were expecting budget accommodation and were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. Jay, greeted us upon arrival and was friendly, funny and helpful and continued to be throughout our stay.
The Rodeway was just a 5 minute walk from where the SXSW shuttle bus stopped so was pretty easy to get back and forth.
It was a trouble free and very pleasant stay. We were made to feel welcome and Jay gave it the personal touch to make it all the more pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    64
    29
    20
    20
See reviews for
56
85
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noman,ok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Love this Place. Jay help me find my way to the hotel when I got so lost! He took care of me. I enjoyed my stay here and some nice and quiet I had no problems. It is a nice and clean area that's a Mexican restaurant connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadygNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wow ... we got in late after traveling all day and the service was impeccable. Jay was so welcoming and just great. The hotel rooms are updated and very comfortable. The location is just off the interstate which made it great for getting around with the car. During our stay they were doing up the parking lot but still made sure the guests had a place to park. The breakfast wasn't extensive, but in a city like Austin which is full of fantastic eateries who wants to eat at the hotel anyways? Andy at front desk was also fantastic, giving up great ideas for our trip. I'd go back to this hotel and I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank En88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are on vacation traveling throughout the Hill Country. We had no idea where we were going to stay for the night and came across this motel. Jay and his staff made it feel like we were part of the family. He is all business, but his business is people and Jay is a people person. The hotel is well run, clean and conveniently located to 2 main highways. Can't wait till I am back in Austin to stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms we had faced the highway and we barely heard the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our stay at the hotel was great. We were not as close to the site of the wedding as I thought. Jay (the manager) took pity on us and gave us complimentary breakfast to try to make up for my mistake. He is what every business owner wants in a manager. When you are in front of him, he makes sure that you are priority and that all your needs are met. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was quiet for a hotel so close to the freeway. Thank you Jay for all that you did!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayinhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Jay was great and went out of his way to make everything prefect!! Stayed here for my bachelorette party and Jay was so cool and made us feel like VIPs. The outside worried us at first but the rooms were awesome! We we'll definitely be staying here or next trip downtown!!! He even set up out cab rides for us. Thank you Jay! Best hotel GM ever.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel from Monday Feb 24th through Friday Feb 28th (Room 212). I loved it! The accommodations are spacious and modern. All amenities are included. Wifi is great. Best part - the staff. They make you feel welcomed and make sure all your needs are attended to. Jay is a great guy! Very helpful and accommodating. Andres and Victor are super! The staff really rocks! The hotel is about 6 miles from downtown. If you don't drive (like me), take the bus (10 minute walk) from near Highland Mall (Bus number 10) to downtown. It is a 35-minute ride. Cost: $1 or, $2 for all day pass. There is also a train system from Highland Mall to downtown. Bus and train run about every half hour. This place is really affordable (compared to what you might pay downtown). I will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended! - D

Room Tip: Walgreens, Target, Ross are about 10 minute walking distance. There are a few restaurants and a IHO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget Inn Capitol
#132 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#155 of 203 in Austin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn & Suites Austin Downtown North is a newly renovated property located near 2 major highways in Austin, Texas. Our property boasts 49 spacious king and queen suites including one which is a fully furnished apartment style room including a dining and family room perfect for a family getaway. A complimentary breakfast is served from 6:30 - 9:30 everyday with the added hot breakfast option available on the weekends. Guests rooms come equipped with FREE WiFi, FREE local calls, NEW King/Queen pillow-top mattresses, computer workstation, 32" HD Television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing