We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tacos in Austin”
Review of Torchy's Tacos

Torchy's Tacos
Ranked #18 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Best tacos in Austin”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Torchy's is not your typical taco restaurant. My favorite is the fried avocado (unfried). It has avocado, vegetarian refried beans, pico, lettuce and cheese. You can get it on a flour or corn tortilla.They will customize your order. My next favorite is the Democrat. It is shredded beef barbocoa with avocado, and queso fresco. The sauces that come with your taco are delicious. You will not find your ground beef tex mex taco here. This restaurant is gluten free friendly.
They also serve Maine Root sodas which are the best.
Most people who visit us from out of town want to eat here first. Be warned, many people feel the same way and there can be some long lines. That is part of Austin.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    121
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice spot with good tacos and dips”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I saw this place on Trip Advisor while staying in Austin for a few days, so we decided to check it out. Got the Republican, the Grande Burrito, and the Green Chile Queso. The taco and burrito were good, but it was the Green Chile Queso that really stood out frm others. Best I've had! Wish they had one in Victoria.

Helpful?
Thank texasboy361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really special!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We went to torchy's on 1st street on our recent visit to Austin. I got the Republican, and my husband got the pork with green chili. Both were great, but the pork was really special. The salsa was great too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular way to take in the ambiance of “Keep Austin Weird””
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spectacular way to take in the ambiance of “Keep Austin Weird” although there was not a thing weird about it but they carry on the Austin tradition anyhow. The food was great and the way it was presented even better.

I’m not talking white table cloths and fine china…food in a basket the begs you to eat what you ordered and sample what your friend ordered as well because it all looks so good. I had the shrimp taco- shrimp was tender and crispy on the outside along with refried black beans and chips and salsa.

But believe me it was a hard choice because the menu was full of great traditional taco and burrito choices. Price is about $8-12 person.

One more thing if you order a fountain drink you will be quite surprised by the choices…don’t look for the Coke or Pepsi that all I’m saying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Every time I'm in Austin...”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Everything is good here, but the breakfast tacos are my favorite! Every time I visit my son in Austin, Torchy's is the first place on the list I want to go and Austin has some great eats!!!! So many things are really good here it's hard to decide, and the specials are usually awesome!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k5acook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Torchy's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing