We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order some good food and maybe meet a famous person”

Capitol Grill inside the State Capitol
Ranked #418 of 3,741 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Order some good food and maybe meet a famous person”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Cafeteria style but food it cooked quickly while you wait. Lots of choices to fit every hunger even those on a strict diet. Good food for a low fare. After walking your legs off on a tour of the Capitol, stop in the Cafe to get a cold drink and some food and the go next door to the Gift Shop for some cool souveniers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenience Over Quality”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food at the Capitol Grill is not necessarily the best, but for someone like me working at the Capitol, it's convenient.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank zafarinfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsboro, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch Break at the Texas State Capitol”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Texas State Capitol is worth a special trip to see what is most likely the best looking state capitol you'll ever see. A lunch break at the Capitol Grill is a convenient easy and reasonable place to eat lunch. A cafeteria line, deli, and a grill is all available at affordable prices. Try the Capitol Club, only $5.95 and it is a terrific sandwich.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than average cafe food”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I guess if it is good enough for our State congress, its good enough for the rest of us. But that is about all....its good enough.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamrock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary cafeteria”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I don't know what I was expecting (just ordinary I suppose) but I must say the food was excellent and the service matched the quality of the meal. The prices were reasonable (considering) and the variety was better than expected. This is well worth your time as you experience the capitol.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired_in_MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitol Grill inside the State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Grill inside the State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing