We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food with a fatal flaw”
Review of Maudie's Milagro

Maudie's Milagro
Ranked #599 of 3,702 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Very average food with a fatal flaw”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

So, a jovial waiter comes up and takes your order. We never see him again. Later, our order---delivered by a bus boy---delivers the food. One order was completely wrong. The rest of our party ate (Mexican doesn't taste as good cold). We dragged it out. After we had finished, another bus boy brought the order. It was incomplete. We rejected it and left after paying the bill for the delivered food. My guess is the busboy just dropped it off in the kitchen and it took its place in line.

It is a very noisy place inside; don't plan on having a meaningful conversation. If there is room on the patio and you wish to subject yourself, it is quieter there.

The menu is very promising, eg low calorie and vegetarian marked. The food is average in execution

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Convenient shopping center TexMex”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A place to avoid the gridlock of highway 360, at least for a while, this isn't food to write home over.
If you're from San Jose or Newark and looking for a taste of Texas, this isn't the place.
The food is o.k., and nothing more. The interior is all hard finish, so the sound level is high….let me say again, HIGH. You'll hear every girls night out shriek of laughter in the entire dining room.
There is a patio and ample parking. Fills up quickly after five.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sure thing”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We go to Maudie's often and there are items on the menu that are very good and other items I don't love. The migas and all of the breakfast tacos are great, as are the shrimp dishes.

I also love the Maida's salad, adding shrimp. The Skinny Sherrils is a good choice - love the grilled zucchini. Also, the chips/hot sauce/guacamole are excellent, as are the margaritas.

This location and Bee Caves are my favorite, but Lake Austin (the original, I think) is a good choice too.

I'm not a huge fan of the items with ground beef and their fajitas are not my favorite in Austin, but they are still good.

It is my first choice when atmosphere/margaritas/chips and hot sauce are the main goals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Reserve your table in advance”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This place is always crowded during lunch because of their food. So, its always better to reserve table in advance to enjoy their enchiladas & fajitas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MANISHAD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Tex Mex”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good basic Tex Mex. The cheese enchalidas are excellent and the margaritas are excellent. The fajitas are so-so. The breakfast tacos are usually good but you have to pay attention and check them to make sure they include a fair amount of each ingredient ordered. The queso is good - better here than at the Hill Country Galleria location.
The environment inside is loud and lively so it is hard to carry on a conversation with a table for more than 4. It is nicer and quieter outside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maudie's Milagro also viewed

 

Been to Maudie's Milagro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing