We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing! 😕”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/15
20:00
Ranked #10 of 3,984 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: South Austin
Cross street: Barton Springs
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Service was slow, food was delivered randomly with no thought to flavours (sashimi came with sticky meat) and just didn’t live up to expectation after reading all the reviews. It was so loud that it was hard to have a conversation, the water tasted of chlorine and there was no bottled alternatives.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank ctp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2019

We arrived shortly before opening & were able to get a table pretty quickly. Their Sushi Social which is their "happy hour" was a good deal . We had both hot & raw sushi & found the dozen items to all be extremely fresh & well presented. Their way of ordering as you go keeps everyone eating & speeds up service while you can keep it coming til you've had all you want.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank agaffney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Was visiting friends who had just moved from San Francisco to Austin. I had recently read an interesting article about this restaurant and was excited to try to go. My Austin friends secured a reservation and were excited to go as this is one of their favorite places. SF folks were giving me a hard time that I was going to Austin to eat Sushi and not Barbecue? I argued what could be better than raw fish, chilled sake, and ice cold beer in June while visiting Austin. I am glad I followed my instinct as we had an absolutely fantastic evening. Excellent and friendly serrvice...well curated Sake list, and impeccably prepared and innovative sushi menu. Will definitely go back next time I am in Austin. Highly Recommended!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Especially nice for sushi happy hour. Very incredible chefs. Very amazing creative menu creations.
Always an awesome choice.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank davidrH1367XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

Food was really good, just think prices were high for the amount of food you got. Long lines and was a little loud in there.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank mhmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.