We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best PoBoys”
Review of Evangeline Cafe

Evangeline Cafe
Ranked #192 of 3,741 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best PoBoys”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Terrific local stop with a great menu and wonderful food. Friendly service, too. Owner is from Louisiana and brought his cajun creativity to this Austin cafe. Best beef poboy sandwich I've ever had. My friend had the shrimp poboy and loved it too. Lots of other Louisiana choices on the menu. Its a little bit off the beaten track from the heart of Austin, but well worth a little drive. Live music offered, too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twangthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    59
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Down home cajun in South Austin”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Middle of week birthday dinner so I knew where I wanted to go-Evangeline Cafe. Wonderful selections of cajun food in a cozy atmosphere with live accordion cajun music and wonderful attentive staff - what more could you want. Perfect for that "wanna go somewhere different and good" feeling. Good gumbo, boudin; good everything! And then as a birthday treat they brought out a pecan pistolette-Wow. The only bad thing was I had to share it with my wife. We will be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cajun food in South Austin”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I were in south Austin so we took the opportunity to try Evangeline Cafe, where I had previously had a po-boy takeout.

We arrived about 7:30 on a Thursday evening to a full restaurant, with a small jazz group in the corner. We decided to take one of the tables available outside on the sidewalk (this in the middle of a strip shopping center) since the evening was not too hot and a nice breeze was available.

We started with an appetizer portion of boudin which was nice and spicy, and had a nice richness to it. It was quite comparable to the boudin I have had in Baton Rouge, and was a nice start for our meal.

For our entree, I had the large chicken fried steak, and my wife had one of the salad offerings, an avocado stuffed with shrimp salad (which she loved - and didn't share!). My CFS was a very large portion, and instead of being topped with white cream gravy, this was topped with the house's Evangeline sauce, which gave the CFS a hint of cajun. Delicious. My serving was so large that I shared several bites with my wife, ate until I was pleasantly full, and still ended up taking almost half of the serving home (for lunch today).

From our perspective we could see just how many folks come to the restaurant. Although we were beyond normal 'family time' dining on a school night, there were still a few children in the mix that spanned three generations.

Wish they were open on Sunday, but glad we had this opportunity to visit Evangeline Cafe and enjoy the great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k5tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yummy!!! 😎”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

They serve amazing food & service & entertainment. I would go back again. Their dessert is soo yummy!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GDLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprise in a strip mall”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Driving up I thought there must be some mistake, this was a strip mall, surely it cannot have good food. Yet, the food was most excellent. We had a large group and ordered several different dishes. I sampled four of these and was pleased with them all including the stuffed redfish and porkchops. We finished with the Pecan Pistolette, and were all impressed. The decor and the live music were also enjoyable additions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeryRarelyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evangeline Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Evangeline Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing