We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salsa is really hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Ranked #143 of 3,689 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Northwest Austin
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Salsa is really hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Had the pork enchilada special. Was very good good. Loved food and the service was great. This place gets really busy starting late afternoon, so plan accordingly.

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    81
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent but not raving about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Good margaritas
Good service especially in a busy atmosphere.
Flautas were the best item from my combo platter which was pretty good but not exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank Questseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have lived in Austin ~25 years and Chuy's has consistently been one of my favorites throughout the years. I do love Tex-mex/southwestern food and Chuy's is an Austin tradition. I probably have averaged in recent years of going to Chuy's almost weekly.

Here is what I think is most important:
- Don't miss the(Hatch) Green Chili Festival. If you like your food spicey, the you won't want to miss. They also have some Green Chili entres year round.
- Mexican Martini's are really good and recommend over there margaritas.
- Get Creamy Jalepeno dip for your chips. Mmmm... good!
- I have tried just about everything on there menu, but am partial to the Chicka Chick boom boom enchiladas and the Southwestern enchiladas.
- As Austin has grown, so too have the crowds for Chuy's. It is best to get there before 11:30am for lunch and 5:30pm for dinner. Otherwise, be prepared to wait. And the bars aren't big enough to hold everyone that is waiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lzfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edna, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Our waiter was great and the food was excellent. Went after picking our daughter up at the airport and will definitely go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WensYobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex, terrific local color, fantastic prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Chuy's is our go-to TexMex restaurant. Around mealtime on weekends it is mobbed; helps to pick an off-the-trail location (they have several here). Service is friendly. Great food, free chips & salsa, good margaritas. What more could you want?!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing