We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Team wor lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Ranked #152 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Northwest Austin
Tianjin
1 review
“Team wor lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Team lunch, food is good, service is good. Space is a little crawled. I had Steak Burrito, large quantity, just eat half of it.

Helpful?
Thank jimmyxue
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    81
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grant, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food we've eaten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Were here from Michigan & this is our 2nd time dining at this Chuys when visiting Texas.
Both times have been very good.

Plan for a wait as it's always busy especially on weekends.

I had the Chicken Chuychanga plate. It was delicious, tender chicken inside & topped with cheese queso sauce.

My husband had the Chicken Enchilada plate. It was filled with chicken & yummy. Just the right kick to it.

Both plates were served with beans & rice.

We also each had frozen margaritas
Mine was mango & his was lime.
Our server forgot to bring them out timely. They were a little melted but we did not send them back. Still good drinks overall.

We always look forward to a Chuys stop!!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere. Friendly Service. Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We came with a hungry party of 7 late in the lunch hour during the week. My in-laws had been here before but this was my 1st time. We were all quite pleased with being seated immediately as well as being given a big serving of their tortilla chips and salsa! They were quite yummy and held us over while we looked at the menu and ordered. Our server was also great about taking the kids' orders right away and brought it quickly rather than waiting for the rest of us. They also provided them with crayons and paper!

I ordered tacos which came with rice and beans (unadventuresome? perhaps. But I LOVE tacos!). I was not disappointed as they were very yummy. My 2 1/2 year old thought to as well so I actually only ended up with 1 taco as she ate my others. (good thing I like rice and beans!). My husband and other family members loved their food as well. And my husband's margharita was also very good.

I would easily come back here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DownInThe906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place but VERY loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

On the plus side: Colorful and fun, with a large menu. If you are a meat eater and like fried food, you'll find plenty to choose from. I'm not into meat/cheese/fried, so very few options for me. But, I had the veggie burrito without the cheese and it was fine. The waiter was very friendly and efficient. The restaurant was busy and very loud. I was at a small table with a friend and we had a really hard time hearing each other, so tough place if you want to converse with your companions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoreBounceInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent service, but average food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I visited Chuy's in January 2014 with a friend for dinner while visiting Austin for the first time. Chuy's came highly recommended. First impression was very good. We were greeted immediately with a friendly smile and seated on the outdoor patio. The server was also very friendly and drinks were in hand quickly. I usually ask about the "local favorite" and the server recommended the Chicka Chicka Boom Boom which my friend ordered. I took a different approach and ordered the Comida Deluxe, but changed one of the sauces to the Boom Boom house specialty. We ordered the Appetizer Plate with different items and sauces which were unique, but nothing to write home about. Main dishes arrived quickly and were also the same, good but certainly not interesting. The Boom Boom sauce was the biggest disappointment, as it was lacking on both flavor and heat. Unfortunately, nearly everything we ordered was covered in it. I do have to say however that the service was perfect from start to finish. Our drinks never went empty and the food was served quick and hot. I would certainly go back with my local friends if invited, but would likely look for another "Tex Mex" option the next time I am in Austin traveling alone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing