We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

South Congress Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
South Congress Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There is always a wait, but if you go knowing that, it's worth it. I went for brunch and was slightly disappointed at the small brunch menu. I ended up getting the sea bass. It was delicious but just not what I was expecting. However, I did the Bloody Mary which was Delicious! They have a fun drink menu!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kuhllikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    199
    62
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good good. Long wait.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Went for brunch. While they don't take reservations, you can call ahead. I recommend calling because the lines are out the door.

I had the carrot cake French toast. Delicious. The gumbo was outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank Mybiggestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had dinner at the South Congress Café about a week ago. I had the Beef Milanesa which is described as cracker crusted tenderloin medallions, crawfish cream gravy, garlic mashed potatoes, and broccoli. This turned out to be expensive chicken fried steak. While made of beef certainly, it sure was not like any beef tenderloin I have ever eaten. The gravy may have been inspired by crawfish but I sure did see or taste any crawfish. The mashed potatoes and broccoli were very ordinary. My wife enjoyed the special fish dish offered and here sister had the special pork chop dish, both were described as excellent. The bread pudding we had for desert was unremarkable. Very disappointing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a great location, close to many shops and outdoor bars etc. Suitable to take children however it is a little pricy. The food is good but the restaurant is often crowded and you may have to wait a while for a table. Great for people watching if you get a booth by the window where you can see all the shoppers walking past on the sidewalk. Decor and atmosphere is upscale and lovely. Service and food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Dinner - Duck Confit!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a wonderful diner here. Roasted beet salad was tasty but the Duck Confit with sweet potatoes an poblanos was off the charts. Crispy luschishness (is that even a word?) Pleasant service, decent wine list - cocktail menu looked awesome too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing