We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudson's on the Bend - CLOSED

Hudson's on the Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
959 reviews
635 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I dined here with a party of eleven to celebrate a graduation. Despite the large size of our party, the service and food were excellent. The place is known for serving unusual meats - elk, quail, boar, venison, rattlesnake, bison, etc but do not be put off. The varied entrees we all ordered were excellent. All eleven of us loved our meals - a rare event for our family. They also have two tasting menus that are very good and reasonably priced. The items are all pricy - but worth it.

My pate de fois gras appetizer and elk strip entree were memorable. My wife' crusted trout was also fantastic. Drinks and dessert were excellent - my chocolate-dipped pecan turtle pie was great. The service was also prompt and efficient. My water glass was never empty and used plates and utensils were promptly cleared.

I can strongly recommend this restaurant and would certainly go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    45
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rivals any great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was searching around sorta last minute for a place to go for Mothers Day brunch and was surprised to see Hudson's had availability. The menu was not surprising or original by any standards. They tend to stick to their core basics....but why would you mix things up if the core is so good? Espresso-Chocolate-chili rubbed smoke Elk back strap? Sounds like too much, but the mix of flavors was perfection and did not take away from that light gaminess in the elk meat. My wife had the pecan smoked duck breast shingled with diver scallops. The scallop added a fatty component to the overall texture and taste. Pheasant roll, fried green tomatoes and rattlesnake as appetizer. Only disapointment was the rattlesnake, only becuase it could have been anything. I like to really know what I am eating by the texture and the original flavor. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank papapromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hudson's on the Bend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wonderful from ambiance to the delicious meal! Great Lake Travis area venue. Parking tho can be a problem but is not a negative.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystalfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“this is great for exotic food left hungry but food was awsome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

i liked the duck and had the venison trio w mashed potatoes very small portions very expensive but meal was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank G2661244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Five Star Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Easter Sunday Brunch was beyond expectations with 5 star cuisine, great service and a very unique atmosphere. This is definitely one of the best restaurant experiences I've every had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hudson's on the Bend also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing