We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy lunch”
Review of Casa de Luz

Casa de Luz
Ranked #246 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: South Austin
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Healthy lunch”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We are a vegetarian couple who only wanted a light lunch. The only option was to have just the soup and salad as we couldn't face the big plate as well. It was tasty, healthy and fresh, but would have benefitted from providing bread to accompany it. But that isn't the sort of thing they do.

Helpful?
Thank MargaretJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Macrobiotic Vegan Kitchen Anywhere”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Casa de Luz is by far the best Macrobiotic Vegan kitchen anywhere in my experience. The cafeteria sits behind a zen like garden in funky south Austin. Delicious fresh organic vegan food is prepared using macrobiotic principals by loving hands each day. No menu choices. Just a choice of 4 different healthy drinks, soup and salad of the day and the plated meal. The food changes with the seasons as it should. Seating is family style with shared tables. A very welcoming and caring holistic community eats here regularly. As of this writing they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week for only $12 all included, paid at the door when you arrive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lago Vista, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Healthy Vegan Food”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Cafeteria style healthy vegan meals, GREAT food but I enjoy BEETs Cafe on 5th St. a little more since they are not only vegan but GF, DF, raw and more of a gormet than cafeteria style.... but try them both if you are vegan, decide for yourself.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lakechiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Macrobiotic Food - Ultimate Clean Eating”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great for vegans; no animal products or gluten. No GMO's and everything is organic. Lunch is just $12.00, but there is no menu. You get whatever they are cooking that day. Unlimited soup & salad. Atmosphere is friendly and peaceful. Want to be good to yourself? Eat here.

The downside is that the food is indeed bland. I'm guessing that macrobiotic food must exclude all seasonings, garlic and onions. But, hey, you don't eat here to please the palate, you eat here to nourish your body. I'd eat there again; no problem.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G1obeTrotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really cool place”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

my first macrobiotic experience! has inspired me to cook more veggies! calm, zen-like dining area. 

Helpful?
Thank artbyhjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Luz also viewed

 

Been to Casa de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing