We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast tacos!”

Arturo's Underground Cafe
Ranked #177 of 3,700 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Breakfast tacos!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We popped into this cafe for breakfast tacos one weekday morning and they were so good, we came back another day....but discovered that on the weekends it's a waiter service, different menu sort of place. Food was still good but it was a disappointment to not be able to get those tacos. Coffee's good but beware that it's $1 or 75 cents for refills.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I ate dinner last night at Arturo's because it is a very short walk from the Hampton Inn and it had good reviews. I ordered the Southwestern Quesadilla that came with black beans and rice. Really good, flavorful quesadilla and best black beans I have ever had!

It's a really cool place with a funky vibe. Service was great too. Definitely check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Lunch and Brunch”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Walked to this funky little cafe for lunch on a recommendation from the Hampton Inn hotel staff - so glad we did. Came back the next day for brunch. The chipotle chicken sandwich is wonderful, as is their southwest french toast (complete with crispy bacon). Staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NikkiSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced lunch spot (about the price of a Chipotle restaurant). Several choices of unique quesadillas, salads and sandwiches. Recommend the Chipotle Chicken sandwich (its spicy!) and the Thai Chicken sandwich. I agree this spot is a hidden gem!

Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brunchalicios!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stopped in for Saturday brunch during our trip to Austin. I had a very good Western scramble but the wife's chipotle eggs benedict made me ask the waiter for the Arturo's cookbook. Since the cookbook isn't out yet I guess we will have to go back soon.
Ambiance cost the fifth star as the place was a little noisy for our tastes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScovilleUnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arturo's Underground Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Arturo's Underground Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing