We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great brisket” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vic's Barbecue

Vic's Barbecue
Ranked #1,397 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South Austin
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great brisket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good local place for barbecue. Brisket is consistently good. The smoked chicken is cooked well but not dry. I go there whenever I'm in Austin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Plenty of Good BBQ at fair price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I had the brisket and rib combo with slaw and potato salad. All was excellent. Only thing I would have liked better would have been a choice of whole wheat bread instead of white bread that was included with the combo. I had unsweet tea to drink and it was fresh and tasted great.

The staff was friendly and helpful, thank you Vic's for a memorable trip to Austin.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VTXpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Brisket,Hole in the Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

It's a bit shabby inside, with ceiling panels missing, dirty floors, and not the friendliest staff, but the brisket ,melted in my mouth! Worth a shot if you're on your way to the airport.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZVagabonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nothing fancy about the decor but it was some Great BBQ!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seguin, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vic's BBQ is over-rated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

I have been to Vic's twice. I recently moved to the area. My friend lives on the street behind Vic's. (Yes, I know...scary!!). Anyways, he always told me never to try Vic's. He said they are too expensive and not very good.

Being a BBQ fiend that I am, I had to try it. Even after being warned. I stopped in on a weekday, on an off hour. It wasnt lunch time but it wasnt dinner time either. The place was empty and I ended up ordering two sliced brisket sandwiches, which I ate in my truck behind the restaurant. The sandwich looked decent, until I got in my truck to eat it. I was shocked at the horrible cuts of brisket and the amount of fat put in my sandwich.

So I end up eating it anyways, I was in a rush. I had bought the 2nd sandwhich for my friend, who was unable to eat it, so I ate it right then. The 2nd sandwich was full of fat too!! There was as much fat as there was lean meat. Its 50 percent fat sandwich, and 50 percent lean sandwich. No thank you.

So I always told myself I would not waste my money again....so I thought.

I recently started working across the street from Vic's. The rednecks at my job recommended Vic's and took me along on their lunch today. I've never eaten lunch with these guys and I kinda stalled at going to Vic's. But I said, why not, these guys seem to think its good...that was my first mistake.

We get to Vic's. Wait in line for what seems forever. I order my food from the butcher who can hardly speak English (that's okay, Im from the Mexican border and am hip to this). So I ask him for a sliced brisket sandwich and 3 pork ribs. I also got some beans on my plate, some onions and pickles and some sauce. Then I grabbed a tea.

The total came out to just under $13. For lunch. The guy at the register kinda laughed and said it would be much cheaper had I ordered a lunch plate. My response was "why didnt your guy cutting my meat point that out to me?". I was like, why should I pay for this, if you know its wrong??? I felt like he cheated me right there.

So I shrug it off and pay the full price. I sit down and low and behold, there is more fat and gristle on my sandwich than edible brisket. The fat outweighs the meat. This is not good.

I ended up throwing my food away, right in front of the cashier, so he could see me do it. I will never again step foot in that dirty little BBQ place. If you look around at the decorations (like I did, as I sat there with my food in the trash can), I noticed that they had not won a BBQ award since 1988. They opened their store in 1987. This does not surprise me. They have not been awarded anything in twenty years. I think that speaks volumes on their BBQ.

I was pretty upset about the $13 fat sandwich I bought. For $14 in Lockhart, I can get two pounds of lean cut brisket with no a piece of fat on it. I would have been better off spending $5-$7 in gasoline to drive to Lockhart to purchase one pound of brisket for $7. I would have had a much better piece of brisket and a much nicer cashier.

Vic's, I am sorry but you gotta go!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blueb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vic's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Vic's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing