We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Waitress”

Texas Land & Cattle Steak House
Ranked #1,016 of 3,741 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Austin
Portland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Slow Waitress”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I called in my order to go. I was told it would be ready in 20 minutes. I got there at 30 minutes to ensure they would be ready. The bartender was not in a hurry to take care of me. When she did acknowledge me, she said my order wasn't ready. I waited 20 minutes. She would glance over at me and then walk away. The gentleman sitting at the bar on my left had an empty beer glass and wanted her to give him another. Since she wouldn't come over, he decided he was done as well. The food was excellent though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dawnarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Consistently bad To Go food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I'm not sure why the South Mopac location has such a hard time with to go orders. I ordered their new FM 290 grilled chicken salad and it was terrible. No avocado, no cotija cheese and the chicken was awful. They used to slice a chicken breast and have it separate from the salad. Now they use thin chicken slice like the pre packaged ones in the store and toss a few on top of the salad. Also, the salad got more expensive and smaller. I've given them so many chances to get their orders right. I've always contacted the manager, but now I'll just be putting out reviews. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WKalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Filled the Hunger”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Typical chain, atmosphere is forced, but ok. The steaks are good, but not great. Prices could be better, but wait staff was very friendly. These type of places a ok until they get slammed with people then it turns ugly real quick. Fortunately my visit did not.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ikeamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good filet, good baked potato”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

For a chain steakhouse, this was very good. Doesn't rate up there with Ruth's Chris, but we had very good steaks, baked potato, and spicy Ceasar salad. It was only a few blocks from our hotel . . . that's why we chose it. There wasn't anything disappointing about the meal or the wait staff. I would eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank UltraLimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food at fair prices”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I enjoyed been there, Friendly bartenders, food was very good.
Best time to go it is on Friday, where a nice crowd of people is aroung. Service more fast

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Texas Land & Cattle Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing