We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
Ranked #91 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Meticulously clean, new hotel. Comfortable rooms and beds. Modern decor. Acceptable breakfast. Very Friendly staff. Great price when you consider the hot breakfast, manager's reception during the week with a light meal and free beer and wine. We loved our 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite. Great for families! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dallas_B0bcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Shiny new ResInn in a newly developing area of north Austin; close to Dell Children's Hospital and an I-35 exit. Other than some big box stores, there's not much else real close by.
Very nice and energetic staff members willing to do a little extra to make your stay more enjoyable.
All the hotel infrastructure is new so it pretty much all works. Be advised that most of the rooms have a shower only -- i.e., no tub. Only the "accessible" rooms have a tub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The property is located in a big box mall overlooking a Home Depot. Pool needs some vines on the fence - else you feel like you are swimming in a parking lot. A few minutes by car to Downtown. New property and that's always nice. I had 3 separate reservations for a 3 night stay - allowing me flexibility if I needed to change dates. The 3 reservations caused a lot of problems including me getting an email while on the Lady Bird Trail that my reservation was cancelled for the evening. They also need to get driving directions pre-printed for major tourist sights in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at this Residence Inn with girlfriends in February. Everything was new and beautiful! The beds and linen were gorgeous as well as comfortable. The shower had the operating faucet on the wall opposite the shower - how convenient. The breakfast was everything you could possibly desire in the morning. The bar was nice as well as the outdoor seating area. This Residence Inn was a short drive to all of the Austin attractions. The only difficulty was finding the Inn as there is not a sign on the building. Staff and Manager were friendly and helpful Great stay!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be perfect as the hotel is so new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciamc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here as our first stop in Austin, having paid over the odds before in Austin for downtown we were looking for something with better value for money as well as still being a good location this time round.

As we were going to see a UT baseball game this was the perfect location as UT was only a 5 minute drive away, and 6th street was just over a 10 minute drive away.

The hotel is very new and in great condition. The rooms are huge with complete kitchen and large sofa and all that you would need for a couple of nights stay. There is a very good selection at the breakfast buffet and a reasonable gym as well. There is a pool but this could do with being a bit more discrete with better fencing perhaps as it is a bit odd that people driving into the car park for nearby shops can see straight in!

One thing that needs to improve is that there are no signs directing you to the hotel or any obvious signage on the hotel, even with a GPS it was a struggle to find and even after pulling into the car park I wasn't certain we were in the right place!

Overall though unless I was willing to pay to stay in one of the high end Austin hotels I dont think there would be much better at this price level in Ausitn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is beautiful, modern and new. We came here on our 5th wedding anniversary for a quiet getaway. We loved it until we got to our room number (432) and the building's air conditioning units are right above that room. We heard this constant droning humming sound over and over. We called the front desk to switch rooms but they were booked, understandable. However, they did nothing to remedy this situation for us, I woke at 4am to the air conditioner rattling the headboard against the wall and had to stuff tissue paper in there to get it to stop. Also, I went to make a drink and the spoons were stuck together and dirty and my glass had fingerprints. Told the front desk everything upon checkout and was offered an I'm sorry, and nothing more. Sure the hotel is pretty and new, and I'm sure we would have had a nice stay but don't let them put you anywhere near room 432! Also, if you have an issue during your stay good luck getting any help.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 797andreaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel in a block off the freeway. Modern, clean and spacious. Rooms are well laid out and the kitchen and microwave were convenient.
The shower was huge but water pressure was really poor.
Over 4 days the key stopped working twice which was maddening.
Staff are very welcoming and friendly.
Restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetheartUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnAUSRT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear SweetheartUSA, I was pleased to hear you think our rooms are modern, clean and spacious. Residence Inn by Marriott Austin University Area has rooms that are 50% larger than a standard hotel suite. I was glad to hear you thought the staff was welcoming and friendly. I look forward to your next stay with us!

Matthew Stafford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat Suites Hotel
#65 of 205 in Austin
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin-University Area

Address: 1200 Barbara Jordan Blvd Bldg 4, Austin, TX 78723-2901
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £138 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin - University Area. Whether you're with us a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin - University Area with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio suites, one and two bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet to start your mornings off right, complimentary Monday - Wednesday evening social hours to end the day well, plus a 24 hour fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. Relax and unwind when you want to stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn by Marriott Austin - University Area we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Austin-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin-University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing