We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Austin-University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
Ranked #66 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great experience at the new hotel, warmly welcomed, didn't even have to out for dinner. Close to restaurants and shops. Also close to freeway & local attractions. Very clean room, great breakfast, would be very pleased to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    30
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
21
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

From start to finish, this was an impressive visit. Reception was so helpful, common areas spotless, pool and outdoor area so modern and well kept. Room was perfect, clean and modern. Awesome view of skyline and short drive to all the happening stuff without feeling confined. Nice shops and restaurants nearby. Excellent value with the free breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADHOTMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a brand new hotel, so naturally it is very clean and modern looking. The location is also great, surrounded by shops and food and just a couple of exits from downtown but not with the downtown price. The customer service here is the worst I have ever experienced from Marriott though. At check in our card was "failing" as we were told by the agent and instead of apologizing and trying to figure out what was wrong he just kept swiping the card and telling us that sometimes banks will block the card if your out of town, which we kept telling him we were not out-of-towners and there was plenty of money on the card. Well come to find out our three different cards were charged in total about $2000. I was able to speak to the manager on duty though and the problem got fixed, but again no 'I'm sorry' came out of her mouth either. The housekeeping standards here are not good either. Their idea of housekeeping apparently is folding the towels and making the bed. Coffee was not replenished, the floors were not swept or mopped and trash was not thrown away.
I would still recommend this hotel based solely on price, location and newness. But if you're looking to be treated like a king or queen, which all hotel guests should be, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg_baca512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was a great end to stay in Austin. The room was awesome, full kitchen including stove, full fridge, dishwasher, desk and little living area, and outlets everywhere!! The pool was warm and nice.
It's in a shopping center with Home Depot, Bed Bath and Beyond, and Old Navy and other big box stores as well some little chain restaurants. Near some great walking/running paths, a great park, and a kids science museum thing called The Thinkery. One thing I needed before leaving Austin was a good local taco place and Pacos Tacos is amazing and easy to walk to. And NOT a chain.
It's about a $15 cab ride to downtown Austin and about $25 to Barton Springs and Zilker Park.
The only negative was the responses from some of the staff. One woman was snippy over the phone but pleasant in person and one woman was just snippy; rude enough to make note of. But besides them, the rest of the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to say hello or good morning.
I would definitely stay there again if I needed a really nice place and a little distance from downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starloverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Meticulously clean, new hotel. Comfortable rooms and beds. Modern decor. Acceptable breakfast. Very Friendly staff. Great price when you consider the hot breakfast, manager's reception during the week with a light meal and free beer and wine. We loved our 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite. Great for families! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dallas_B0bcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Shiny new ResInn in a newly developing area of north Austin; close to Dell Children's Hospital and an I-35 exit. Other than some big box stores, there's not much else real close by.
Very nice and energetic staff members willing to do a little extra to make your stay more enjoyable.
All the hotel infrastructure is new so it pretty much all works. Be advised that most of the rooms have a shower only -- i.e., no tub. Only the "accessible" rooms have a tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The property is located in a big box mall overlooking a Home Depot. Pool needs some vines on the fence - else you feel like you are swimming in a parking lot. A few minutes by car to Downtown. New property and that's always nice. I had 3 separate reservations for a 3 night stay - allowing me flexibility if I needed to change dates. The 3 reservations caused a lot of problems including me getting an email while on the Lady Bird Trail that my reservation was cancelled for the evening. They also need to get driving directions pre-printed for major tourist sights in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin-University Area

Property: Residence Inn Austin-University Area
Address: 1209 E 51st St, Austin, TX 78723-3470
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin - University Area. Whether you're with us a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Austin - University Area with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio suites, one and two bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet to start your mornings off right, complimentary Monday - Wednesday evening social hours to end the day well, plus a 24 hour fitness center for strengthening your body and soul. Relax and unwind when you want to stay focused and productive when it's essential. At Residence Inn by Marriott Austin - University Area we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Austin-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin-University Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing