We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #84 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Beds were very comfortable, attractive decor, liked the food that was available for the free breakfast. Price was economical and every thing clean. Good Job.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufsp122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super83120, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2011

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to write such a wonderful comment following
your stay to the Super 8 Austin Airport, South.
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the
appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and
appreciated.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin, Texas. We look forward to your return

Dee Mehra
Guest Relations Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

We picked this hotel due to the reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. After a 10 hour drive from West Texas to get there we were extremely happy to find a friendly receptionist and an extremely comfortable, large & quiet room.

From the free coffee and biscuits, to the complimentary (and fantastic breakfast) I can honestly say if I lived in Texas I would aim to stay here again if I was in Austin. Don't let the location put you off - it's a five minute drive to MLK station where you can easily get the bus or train in to town!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim_g123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super83120, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2011

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to write such a wonderful comment following
your stay to the Super 8 Austin Airport, South.
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the
appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and
appreciated.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin, Texas. We look forward to your return

Dee Mehra
Guest Relation Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Looking for a value, clean and safe hotel during our trip to Austin. Someone on the plane had advised us against this particular location along Montopolis, but we wanted to see it first. When we got there late, Maria was so pleasant, she remembered my name from my call earlier in the evening, so helpful and nice. The room was clean, quiet, breakfast was fine and staff very nice. No complaints, for the value, location and safety, I would recommend & go again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyBOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super83120, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to write such a wonderful comment following
your stay to the Super 8 Austin Airport, South.
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the
appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and
appreciated.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin, Texas. We look forward to your return

Maya Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I read the reviews and decided to take a chance on this place. I won't say it was a bad experience, but it certainly wasn't above average. The rooms were clean enough, the location was fine, but the service was very disappointing. Here's our story:

We arrived on a very hot Saturday afternoon and immediately noticed that the air conditioning in our room was making a very loud clunking/wheezing sound. Obviously something was wrong. We called the front desk and the woman came to check it out a few minutes later. She agreed with us -- there was definitely a problem. She said she would notify the manager who was expected soon. We went to dinner and returned to the hotel around 10pm and asked if the manager had stopped by our room to repair the unit while we were out. She said that he hadn't arrived for work yet, but she was expecting him at any minute. An hour later we called down and she said she didn't know where he is, but she offered to call him on his cell phone. She also explained that the hotel was full so they couldn't move us to a different room. We told her not to bother calling the guy on his cell phone and just turned the A/C off for the night. The next day we stopped by the desk in the early afternoon and the same woman said that she left a note about our A/C unit in the manager's book and she was surprised that it hadn't been fixed. Apparently, he didn't see the note. She called a woman named Maya (who I think might be one of the owners) and asked her to stop by our room. Maya knocked on our door a few minutes later with a phone pressed to her ear, walked into our room while talking on the phone, turned our A/C off, told us that all of their A/C units are loud, and said there was nothing she could do. I called the front desk a few minutes later and was told that they couldn't switch us to another room because we purchased our room on Orbitz so they couldn't "change our room type." (Really?! How is that possible?!) We were quite understanding about the entire thing because we were on vacation and didn't want to ruin it by getting upset about this nonsense, but...in retrospect, I wish we had been a bit more demanding.

In a nutshell, the hotel is a good value because it includes free wi-fi, free parking, and a decent breakfast. However, don't expect the stellar service that others mention in their reviews. It felt like any other low-budget chain motel to me.

And a note for Maya -- if you are indeed one of the owners, I hope you read this review and learn from it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveL1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Austin, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for a noisy Air Conditioner.
I have investigated your comments and have taken corrective steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. My staff will also be made aware of your comments and we have made immediate corrective action.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Maya Kumar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The owners of this hotel have gone overboard in their attention to detail in making the traveller feel comfortable. This is property management par excellence. No .... this is NOT the Ritz Carleton ...... BUT for it's category and class (eg: a short stay airport hotel ) this hotel represents the best value of any that I have ever stayed in. Good work. I truly am impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertfoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super83120, General Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to write such a wonderful comment following
your stay to the Super 8 Austin Airport, South.
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the
appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and
appreciated.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin, Texas. We look forward to your return

Sam Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We enjoyed the excellent coffee available at any time as well as the selection of pillows. The beds were very comfortable and we used the free WiFi continually.

The only negative was that our room had not been made up when we came back one day at 4 PM. We asked that it be made up immediately and it was.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super83120, Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for a delay in cleaning your room.
I have investigated your comments and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. My staff will also be made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Sam Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Very clean; excellent breakfast, quiet room. Exceeded my expectations. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvb30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super83120, General Manager at Super 8 Austin/Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to write such a wonderful comment following
your stay to the Super 8 Austin Airport, South.
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the
appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and
appreciated.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Super 8 Austin Airport, South the next time you are in Austin, Texas. We look forward to your return

Sam Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Wyndham Garden Austin
#46 of 204 in Austin
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £65 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight
Super 8 Austin/Airport South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing