We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 ....Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #71 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Super 8 ....Superb”
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel and I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the overall experience. The hotel was very neat and clean, with a very nice appearance both inside and out. The hotel staff was very accomadating and extremely friendly. Mava, Dee and Maria are to be commended for their diligence and professionalism.
I had always thought of Super 8 as a step up from Motel 6 until I actually arrive at this hotel. It is a small hotel with service that is equal to some of the four and five star hotel chains for considerably less the cost.
I will definitely use this hotel when I return to Austin next month.

  • Liked — The bed was awesome. I slept very well!!
  • Disliked — the parking lot
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SirCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    217
    77
    32
    25
See reviews for
215
224
77
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We initialy wanted to stay in the centre of Austin but it was all looking a little too expensive and I began to look a little further out. It became apparent that we would have to drive to get into town so I looked for a cheaper out of town hotel and this one kept coming up. I researched this hotel on several different sites and all the reviews were excellent. Despite our reservations about the reputations of motel 8 we booked.

It was fairly easy to find and we had a warm welcome on our arrival. We had booked a double suite but as I had a cold my lovely partner said they wanted their own bed. .. humph!! We managed to change room no problem. The room and bathroom were immaculate and a good size. There was a fridge and big tv and If you have a laptop there is free internet.

There is a pillow menu and you can pick what you want if you need to change, however there were about 5 pillows on my bed anyway.

The breakfast was great and there was loads of it - It was full of sweet things as is normal in the USA - cakes, more cakes, donuts, sweet cerials, different breads, fruit, good quality yoguts, eggs, and small flat sausages in a scone! Lots of tea which we were delightet at, coffee and a huge array of sweet things to put in your coffee. The texas shaped waffle maker was an interesting challenge to my partner.

The dining room is small and if there were more that 15 people it would be too busy but we did not have any problems.

There is fresh coffee available all day in reception and in the evening they put fresh cakes out. We did not try out the massage chars in reception :~(

The staff were excellent and the manager went out of his way to offer help when I had a banking question. I was trying to book a Segway tour and A lovely guest who stays there often even offered me the use of his phone to make a quick local call.

The drive in to town takes about 7 to 10 min depending of traffic. it looks more on the map and it was easy.

I would totaly reccommend this hotel. I have stayed in 4 star hotels that are not as good as this !

  • Liked — It was clean and good value for money
  • Disliked — Hmmm - nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

This is the best chain motel site I have ever stayed at! Our room and bathroom were HUGE, clean, and well appointed. The room and motel decor was all very tasteful and modern. Ammenities such as the 52 inch flatscreen tv, DVD player, and MP3 docking station were a great convenience as was the full kitchen in my "family suite". Free breakfast and evening desert bar are very nice. All this, plus too many more amenities to list make this a GREAT value for the price!

Additionally, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Just wished it had a swimming pool, but still totally worth the stay despite missing that........

All in all, a wonderful, comfortable stay---we have found our new Austin motel for the many visits we make each year! My 4 year old son is already begging to go back! Lol!

  • Liked — All the "personal" touches that made it "homey" and wonderful ammenities & staff
  • Disliked — No pool, mediocre water pressure , handicap room needed a "regular" height rack to hang clothes, full kitchen could use some kitchen basics (i.e., a pot, pan, utensils, etc.)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank getwiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidWest USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Picked this hotel because of location and all the good reviews. It is as good as the others say. The business room we had was only $5 a night more than a Standard room. Had the huge TV, a notebook computer AND printer in the room. Print boarding pass on day of return, plus a lot of other things.
The staff was always most helpful. There is the Wii on first floor for kids, lots of DVD's to borrow and watch, and near airport. Don't like your pillow, they have a choice of lots of kinds.

Will stay whenever in the area.

  • Liked — Computer & printer in room. We both could use a computer at same time.
  • Disliked — Just one day breakfast bar wasn't restocked ASAP. Others days fine,
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoeyJetttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Agree with all the previous excellent reviews...this family do a FANTASTIC JOB! The place is spotless, comfortable, breakfast was good, Owner is friendly, even offered us desert when we arrived! There's even a LCD TV Monitor in the elevator!
The business centre has clean laptop computers and a good laser printer, just what you need to print off your boarding passes. 10/10 for The Kumar Family.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank niloc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2008

This is not your ordinary Super 8! As mentioned in many of the other reviews it has everything you would need and more for a comfortable stay at a hotel. This was our second visit in the last two years. The hotel staff really cares about its guests. The beds and bedding are great! It is very clean! And a great value! We needed an early shuttle ride to the airport at 5:00am and even that was done with a smile and friendly conversation. The free breakfast bar did not open until 6 but they even made sure we had a coffee before we left. We will be going to Austin once every year...and I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — accomodations and convience
  • Disliked — there were none
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pat59NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

What can I say? When I heard I was booked at a Super 8 hotel for a biz trip my heart sank. I imagined a nasty, charmless little motel with planes going overhead and the smell of plastic and old cigarettes. But, no! Somehow this family has taken what certainly could have been a hum-drum cookie cutter establishment and turned it into a truly excellent hotel. As all the other reviewers have mentioned it is well-appointed and comfortable - a testimony to the strengths of a well-run family business.

A word to the Holiday Inn and other chains - look at what the Kumars are doing and follow their example.

  • Liked — Great bed, comfortable and quiet room near the airport
  • Disliked — Far from restaurants and downtown
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JonKMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#63 of 203 in Austin
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight
Super 8 Austin/Airport South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing