We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas Hospitality at it's best!”
Review of Star of Texas Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star of Texas Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Texas Hospitality at it's best!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Background story - a GF and I decided to go to Austin for a girl weekend... spur of the moment let's get out of our city and do something else decision. Looking for a place to stay, everything seemed to be booked except for Super 8 and Motel 6... the rates at Super were $300+/night... Yah. It turns out the Formula 1 Grand Prix was in town for the weekend...lol.

I refuse to take part in paying a price like that when it would normally have been $100 or less. We almost gave up. On a whim, I called around a couple of B&Bs. One had no vacancy, the other was price gouging and then there is this gem called Star Of Texas. I'm a born Texan and this place made me proud. Why?

Integrity - they charged normal rates though others were not.
Great service - They called me back and made the arrangements via phone/email while we were on our way driving to Austin.
Pristine - super clean... even the air.
Comfy/Well decorated
Location - close to everything in town. Bring your bike and just ride. Lanes/trails are right out the front door.
Breakfast - fresh, full and yummy. My favorite was waking up smelling breakfast cooking like I was a kid at home again.
Snacks/drinks - free snacks, fresh cookies, fruit, and drinks (juice, tea, coffee) all day.

If you go to Austin, you don't want to miss out on this gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue house, the new annex. So great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyMoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    33
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
42
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This B&B is located about two blocks from the UT-Austin campus, which has the LBJ Library, The Blanton Art Museum, and many more cultural venues and restaurants within walking distance. It's important to note that parking is impossible to find in Austin, so you might as well walk. As others have mentioned, the cookies in the alcove and the wine and lemonade in the fridge are really nice touches. Bring your ear plugs (or ask for some) One drawback was the dorm being constructed about 50 yards from the B&B. They started work every morning at 5am so this was not a restful place. The construction is supposed to be completed by next fall, but you are right near a lot of student housing so you'll also hear drunken students strolling by frequently. Breakfasts were delicious, Dylan was very helpful and friendly and the place was spotless.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the front of the house and pay extra for a bigger room - it's worth it unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

What they won't tell you is that UT is erecting a 10 story dorm across the street to house "All UT Athletes". Work goes on ALL the time. It's extremely noisy, dirty and highly unpleasant. You know you're in trouble when your room has a bowl full of packaged ear plugs by the bed!!!!! It's a shame, because this used to be a wonderful place, but now I wouldn't stay there again for a million dollars. And don't eat at "Crave", the Thai carry out around the corner, because we got food poisoning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khbDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stay at the Star of Texas once a year. It is quite convenient to UT. Good breakfast, beverages in the refrigerator, and cookies by the door. Parking next to the house. I've never seen the owners; the staff are quite friendly and helpful. WiFi available, and an old fashioned computer with printer, too.

Room Tip: even the ground floor rooms have a privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajero952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights at the tail end of our vacation. It is very close to the UT campus. Lots of students walking by all day long. Right now there is construction of a new residence hall literally right behind the B&B which makes it a bit noisy during the day but they finish working by 5 so it doesn't impact your sleep.

We had room 13 which was great. Big, comfortable bed. Big bathroom. Access to the upper balcony which was great to sit out on and read and/or people watch.

Breakfast was fine. The food was good and plenty of it. Everyday there was an egg dish and a sweet pancake or oatmeal dish, plus bacon, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee, and juice. As others have said there is usually only one person around in the morning and clearing away used dishes from the tables is not at the top of their list of things to do. One morning when we came down every table had at least some used place settings. Luckily we were able to find a spot to sit with clean dishes. However a family of 4 came in shortly after us and didn't end up eating because there weren't enough clean place settings left for them, at least not at a table together.

If you are okay with a more hands off approach to your B&B experience then this place is for you. We enjoyed our time spent here and would stay here again when in the Austin area.

Room Tip: Pick a room with access to the upper balcony, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Star of Texas is an outstanding B&B. We went to Austin for 3 days in February 2012 for a little get away. It was easily located, within walking distance of some good restaurants. Not far from the downtown area and the breakfast is WOW - great. Service was excellent and I have recommended it to several friends as it is in the top 5 of the B&Bs we have stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This B&B was one highlight to our honeymoon. We chose it because we had plans at a venue near the UT campus that evening and there did not seem to be a lot of reasonably priced options in the area with availability -- and we were trying to avoid another corporate hotel experience. We called the owner, having gotten the number off the internet. He ran our credit card over the phone and gave us a keycode to get in; we stayed in room 19 on the main floor (key was in the door when we arrived).
We were tired from our earlier day trip to Gruene. At 5pm, we were happy to just unpack the car, rest and get out of the heat. Imagine how excited we were to be staying in an enormous, well-appointed room with quality bedding, robes, fluffy towels -- all the comforts of home -- as well as cookies in the entryway and a sitting parlor with an array of refreshments (lemonade, soda, OJ, wine, etc.) that we were encouraged to help ourselves to.
The breakfast the next morning was above average; the 12:00 checkout time was helpful -- along with the study area -- which had some guidebooks and a computer to help plot out the last leg of our trip (read them on the porch swing outside after breakfast) and a place to go to church. When compared to other enjoyable places we stayed in the area on this trip, which were in the same ball-park price-wise (Faust Hotel in New Braunfels, Spring Hill Suites in Round Rock), this property really surpassed our expectations in terms of value, quality details & hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 19, on the main floor, was very large and felt very private. There were other options with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#37 of 203 in Austin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of Texas Inn

Property: Star of Texas Inn
Address: 611 West 22nd Street, Austin, TX 78705
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Star Of Texas Inn Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing