We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #106 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I am a long long time member of the "Club" I was given an upgrade to room with a great lake view . The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. The homemade Enchaladas were tasty! The Shuttle service is a great plus if you have patience they will drop you downtown or pick you up till 10:30 ( as long as no airport pick ups are happening ) or You can walk to Rainey St. and have a bite and cocktail and then walk to 6th. It really was not far at all we walked back along the lake went down to lake path at the Mexican Mueseum.Great place to stay and see Austin without a rental car!!! Also paddle boats and kayacks at your fingertips.
Room could have used a small table with proper chair to dine at. S. Bus Drivers were very helpful. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank msminjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for the great review. This is the kind of stay we strive to provide all of our guests.

It sounds like you enjoyed our convenient location and got the chance to walk around. Rainey Street is indeed becoming a major entertainment area. Just hope it’s not loved to death.

Thanks again for the many compliments and do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel was okay, the service in the restaraunt was okay, the bartenders were nice but as far as knowledge unimpressive on making drinks, but Gene, our driver to and from the airport when we arrived and when we left was just amazing! He worked hard to be very personable and really make a friend. I can tell this is just his personality. So please, take good care of him. He takes good care of you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajstringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for your comments and compliments for Gene, one of our drivers. We always try to hire and keep the most hospitable staff in Austin and Gene is a good example of how we strive to help every guest enjoy their stay with us.

I’ll pass along your regards and your other observations as well. Thanks again and come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The building is made of foam, the staff doesn't pay attention. We asked for conditioner and received 3 bottles of lotion an hour later. The staff had to be asked three times for a blanket, and never brought any toilet paper when requested. The computers in the business area are decrepit and slow, the printer doesn't work and the staff is too inept to help with anything. All in all, I would have rather slept in the chicken truck out front. The chicken truck was legitimately delicious, but the hotel blows. Stay here if you're too drunk to care.

Room Tip: Probably shouldn't stay here, but if you plan on using the pool, ask for a room in that tower. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuggiinPist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear FuggiinPist,

Thanks for the colorful review. We obviously didn’t meet your expectations but I feel compelled to address a couple of your concerns.

I usually spend my time on these pages thanking guests for their praise of our staff. The previous comment “What a great staff” is common. A fuller description of “inept” would be helpful.

The business center computers are checked daily in the AM for problems. Invariably, since they receive heavy use from many different users, we must, “Clean them up” often. Honestly, this has been the case in every property I’ve been affiliated with. We have however recently upgraded our WiFi to quadruple the speed.

Our in room amenity packages are Holiday Inn standard and include a “Conditioning Shampoo”. Like many hotels these days, we do not carry conditioner.

Lastly, although humorous, the building is not made of foam. The original building is poured concrete as was common at the time of its construction, quite solid I can assure you. I do believe there is some ornamental trim where foam was used. This is quite common in all building construction these days, pretty much anywhere you see stucco the substrate will be foam.

Although we won’t see you again at our hotel, we hope your next trip to Austin is a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this location for 4 days and it was a wonderful experience. The rooms are nice, the food in the dining room is excellent, and it is close to downtown Austin without the downtown prices.

But above all, the staff is amazing. 2 staff members really stand out to me. Danielle is at the front desk. She is so accommodating and always offered a welcoming smile. I never felt like any of my requests were an inconvenience for her. Another staff member who was amazing was Gene. He was a shuttle driver for me. He offered wonderful advice on where to eat and go to in the city. Even though Austin Land and Cattle was a little out of his shuttle area he was very accommodating. Gene and Danielle have set a benchmark for me on how I will measure service at hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Danielle and Gene are just two of our amazing staff and they certainly do provide our guests with a positive experience every time I’ll pass along your praise.

It sounds like you had a chance to experience some of our other amenities. We hope you get the chance to come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Although the location is ideal, there are a number if things that really need attention to rate better than average. Broken ice machine, and radio, chipped paint on trim, cracked elevator buttons and squealing toilets all make it seem run down. Although the radio was resolved right away, it's an unnecessary bother to deal with. Clean but just not a standout in terms of upkeep.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank ValeriePoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for your constructive comments and I’m glad we were able to remedy your issue with the radio. You will be happy to learn that we’re in the early stages of a property renovation that will include the areas you mentioned.

Try us again the next time you are in Austin and see our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is good. A bit further out of town than many of the others but the free shuttle service they offer more than made up for it. Free pick up/drop off at the airport (saves you $30 cab fare), or 6th street, the ACL Festival, etc. Made it as convenient if not more than other closer hotels.

Staff and service was very good. One issue that came up was resolved plus they gave us free breakfast coupons to boot!

The hotel is older and could use a refresh but it's in good shape and clean. The rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuaneAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Were elated that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our shuttle service is convenient and we work hare to make it timely and efficient. Thanks too for your positive comments about our staff. They are the best.

Come back again when ACL rolls around next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our first visit to Austin and were very happy with the hotel. The location was excellent, easy access to Town Lake where we had a brilliant walk one morning and easy access to entertainment area. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful, our room was clean and bed comfortable. The bathroom was quite compact but no problem. We were overlooking the highway and have to say that we were not bothered by any noise - perhaps we are heavy sleepers! Wifi was easy to access. All in all, an enjoyable stay and no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveL427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy the features and amenities we gladly offer.

Please look us up the next time you visit Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#46 of 204 in Austin
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £103 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing