We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff but needs some remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Austin
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff but needs some remodel”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 days, upgraded to a larger executive room which barely costed anything more. Got to the top floor and the view was great. The staff at all times were very nice. As some others have stated, parts of the hotel are a little run down and it's great to hear there will be a remodel. My room had some type of hole above the entrance hallway that was covered with duct tape. Elevators were also in rough shape. Was very surprised this hotel, as large as it is, does not have a hot tub. The breakfast was not really great and unlike some Holiday Inn's I've stayed at, was not complimentary.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thanks for the complimentary review. The very areas you mention are slated for rehab and much more.

Full service Holiday Inns do not provide a complimentary breakfast. For Holiday Inn Express, a breakfast is always included.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    240
    198
    98
    56
See reviews for
134
159
49
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
298 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great location though property is a bit outdated. I would think for a family visiting for a great music festival, weekend getaway or vacation it would be a great place to stay. Rooms need to be updated with more power outlets at desk and around nightstands. AC/Heater sounded like a jet engine ready for take off. Being right next to 35, road noise on East side was very noticable. I know a lot of negatives, but there are enough positives that I still give it a 4. I didn't make time to eat here, but what I saw looked real good, and staff was polite, friendly and willing to make sure stay was perfect.

Room Tip: Room on West side would be quieter (not as much road noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay. Yes, we’re not the newest property in town but will soon be starting a renovation to update the entire facility.

Indeed our staff is one of your greatest assets and we appreciate you taking the time to recognize them for their hospitality. Come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the holiday inn on ladybird lake several times. The desk staff (rachel, Ashlee) are always so helpful. On this particular visit I was feeling a little down. Ashlee invited me to the holiday staff party and I had an incredible time. Special thanks to troy at the bar. They make me feel at home in austin. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank happyallthetime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Sorry I missed you at the Holiday Party, It was great fun. Rachel, Ashlee and Troy are just a few of our stars. We do our best to hire and retain these ambassadors of Austin hospitality.

Thanks so much for your kind reviews. We value our loyal guests and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in July for the 4th of July holiday. The location is really great - you can easily get to the downtown area by walking lakeside and you are really close to Rainey St (old bungalows that have been fixed up and turned into bars and cocktail lounges with ample backyards and porches).

Hotel is a bit run down, but our room was really clean,comfortable and a good size. Our rate included parking and breakfast and was definitely the best deal money can by in Austin for location, free parking and breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laserlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for the great review. We’re elated that your stay was totally successful and that your were able to enjoy the location and surrounding area.

Although only our “Best for Breakfast” includes our full breakfast buffet, the free parking and wifi indeed make us a real value in the downtown area.

Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
383 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Hotel was not the best I have ever stayed at, but it definitely wasn't the worst! The staff was very, very nice and helpful. I was impressed by several employees. The room was comfortable and the location was great. If I had to do it again, I would ask for a room on the lakeside as it would be quieter but it worked perfectly fine for a short weekend trip. No complaints here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuhllikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks for the review and your business. Your observations on our staff are common and we love each one.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were here over the Thanksgiving week for the Tech/UT game. We got in late Wensday night, they got us checked in very fast that way we could grab a bite to eat before the kitchen closed (which was closing in 15 mins). We went to the bar where we were greeted by a very friendly & helpful bartender Troy. He got our order fast that way the kitchen would not close on us. He then got us our drinks and helped us with our where abouts as this was our first time in Austin. He gave us the streets to get around with out having to deal with traffic. Our food was about to come when we asked if we can take it to the room, as we were beat. He made sure our food was packaged with all the condiments that were needed for our meal.
Each night we ended up at the bar always with that friendly face & that warm Howdy. Our rooms were very clean, well stocked with linens & supplies (we have stayed at places that lacked on these items, which becomes very upsetting). We had Thanks Giving meal in the resturant. It was vey good food, very nice workers who made you feel at home. Also thought it was great that they scheduled a shuttle to take all of us that were there for the game to our event. They really treat you well and take care of you like your family at this wonderful establishment. Thank you so very much for such a wonderful stay for my family & I over a very busy holiday week. Troy was really a true help & very fun to talk with. Thank you so very much for all the wonderful helpful tips to help us around town & get me to my shopping. Also for helping make some wonderful friendships happing, even if half us are Tech fans & the other half turned out to be Horn fans :-)

Room Tip: We got the lake view. Its very nice & quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. It looks like all the things we strive to give our guest were 100% on the mark. Troy is a master at providing genuine Texas hospitality and we all value his service on behalf of the hotel.

Our Thanksgiving Buffet is indeed a special treet and we’re glad we were able to make you feel at home while on the road. If only we could have assured a different outcome on the playing field, it would have been perfect.

I believe the Longhorns play again next year on Thanksgiving so come on back and see us then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Pure business trip, so I was leaving at 7:45 and getting back at 9:30.

Very nice view of the lake from room 406; the location's a short hike from downtown (through a neighbourhood that clearly used to be dreadful - people who'd been in Austin since a decade ago told me not to consider walking there after dark) and on the round-lake trail.

Beds are comfortable, the TV is a TV, the shower's OK. Hotel itself feels slightly run-down, the carpets in the halls upstairs in the towers could do with a replacement and one of the elevators was broken for the whole week I was there. My room key kept stopping working; the people on the front desk were lovely about it but it was a bit annoying to get back after a long day and have to go back down to the lobby to get the key reprogrammed.

The breakfast is decent - buffet selection, you can have granola, or a pretty good fruit salad, or pile your plate high with scrambled eggs and bacon.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake rather than of the interstate (!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasWomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for your thorough comments. You are correct, the neighborhood just north of us “used” to be dreadful. It’s now known as the Rainey Street District and is a vibrant and growing entertainment area filled with converted bungalow homes that now house restaurants and lounges.

As in any city center, safety is a concern. The hike and bike trail is somewhat remote and best enjoyed in sunlight but Rainey Street is just .1 miles from the hotel and bustles with people. We can also shuttle you down there and pick up until 10:30pm. Additionally, it’s a 5-7.00 cab ride to 6th Street or the Warehouse districe.

Thanks again for your review and come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Address: 20 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing