We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay just off the Interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
Ranked #55 of 203 Hotels in Austin
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice stay just off the Interstate”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and I took a short trip to Texas for a weekend and needed a decent place to stay in South Austin. I booked this hotel based upon TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Very convenient to the airport and I-35, as well as the very chic South Congress area. The room was very comfortable with a flat screen TV and a nicely updated bath. Hotel service was great (they helped me with boarding passes) and we had no trouble with our stay at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laminicooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    498
    282
    132
    71
See reviews for
355
264
100
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

While the bathrooms are small and cramped, the rooms have amazing work space. The wrap around desk has plenty of space for your laptop, smart phone and paperwork. I found the king size bed a bit too firm for my liking but it will probably be fine for most guests. There are lots of good quality clean towels and the hotel supplies shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The room is supplied with a single serving coffee maker; be sure to ask the maid to leave more packets of coffee if you’re more than a 2 cup a day coffee drinker. The wall mounted air condoner unit is controlled by a thermostat near the bed. I have two criticisms of the room: The 120 volt ac outlets for the work space are not easily accessible (one must either reach behind the flat screen TV or crawl under the desk); the fancy ice bucket is supplied with a liner that is way too small. Check in and check out is a breeze but don't expect the front desk to volunteer information about the hotel or services. The desk clerk has the answers but you have to ask.

Room Tip: The hotel locks up the parking lot at night (10 PM I think). If your gps or navigator directs you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevada_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This seems to be a La Quinta masquerading as a Wyndham. It's a 2.5 star hotel, at most. Our room (104) looks nothing like the photos advertised - particularly the bathroom. The room is dated, the ceiling is very low and the room is extremely dark. There are only two lamps - insufficient to light the room. The wireless will connect but then disconnect repeatedly. It is essentially nonfunctional. The beds are old and creaky. The bathtub has seen better days.

If it weren't so hard to find a dog-friendly hotel, we would have walked out immediately.

There are much better options in Austin. We should have looked around a little more instead of relying on the Wyndham brand.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rmhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Have stayed here several times. The dog friendliest hotel I have ever seen. Sliding glass doors out into an enclosed area for animals (dogs). The front staff is always friendly and helpful. Hate to write this good of a review as I may have difficulty getting a room in the future. (and no, I do not work for the hotel or have any connection....) my daughter is a UT student.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel was selected for us through Priceline. The Internet was easy to access, just a little slow. The king bed was very comfortable. The TV was flat screen but the picture was a little unsharp - this seemed to vary by station - do not know why. Water pressure was high with plenty of hot water. Room was clean. Room size was average to large. In-room coffeemaker was cheap and retained residual water from the last user. Cafe and bar in the lobby were reasonably popular but we always eat elsewhere. There was a wall-mounted modern digital thermostat that controlled an old fashioned under-the-window-type cooler and heater, except it wasn't under the window. It was located in such a way as to blow cold air across the bed so that we had to put a large (comfortable) armchair in front of it to block the draft. Like most such units, it was noisy and would cool the room down too much when set for 72 or 73 and would allow the room to become too stuffy when set for 74. My wife had to get up 3 or 4 times during the night to turn the thing on and off for a comfortable room. Bear in mind that this kind of problem may exist in one room but not in another.
The decor was routine except the lobby was filled with photo portraits of country singers and rockabillies. Even if this is not your preferred listening, the bios that accompany each portrait make for interesting reading and are a mosaic of Texas musical history.
The front desk people were super-friendly, but limited in how helpful they could be. We bought some perishable food and asked if it could be stored in a refrigerator for us. The options that they were allowed to offer us was to deliver a small refrigerator to the room for a charge of $30, or we could upgrade to a larger room or suite - they had furnished refrigerators. We do not fault the hotel for the limited options. They lost the opportunity to earn an A+ rating by accommodating us, but their policy was reasonable. At this point let me say that, even with a prepaid reservation, if you mention a special need upon check-in, occasionally a hotel will upgrade your room for no extra charge, if they have vacant units. We did not think of doing that in this case, and the ice bucket became our cooler for a night.
The location is out of town, which allowed us to get a great prepaid rate and free parking. In-town prepaid reservations often present one with 'parking valet shock' upon check-in. The hotel was located between downtown and the airport and we considered it convenient to both. It was on a highway for a quick commute to your outing. The room was quiet with no traffic noise.

Room Tip: In general, when using Priceline, you can sometimes get a room upgrade at the front desk if you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I booked this hotel for a recent conference I was attending in downtown Austin because it was about half the price of the downtown hotels and only 3 miles out, so pretty quick to get a cab downtown when I needed to.
The Wyndham Garden did not disappoint in terms of value for money and service, with free parking, free wi-fi and excellent breakfast (also at half the price of those in the big downtown hotels).
If I had to criticize one point it would be that the hotel is getting a little old and is in need of a facelift, but otherwise clean and comfortable, so I'm happy to overlook the old-fashioned decor.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Beats the pricier downtown hotels in value, but not as plush as the usual Wyndham. Good location between airport and city; friendly, helpful staff. Small bathrooms; could use shelf under vanity. Eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Dear TravelbeeSantaFe_NM,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I see on your comments that you mention eating somewhere else. I would like to hear more about this if possible. We are dedicated to giving you a super experience and any comments that help us to improve standards and services here are welcome. If you are open to discussion please contact the hotel so we can learn more about this. I look forward to hearing from you. ckokoska@wyndham.com
BeWell
Casandra Kokoska
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Property: Wyndham Garden Austin
Address: 3401 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham
Wyndham Garden Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing