We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ROCKS!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
Ranked #55 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Chicago, Il.
1 review
“This hotel ROCKS!!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2008

All I can say is that the staff at The Wyndam is exceptional!!!!
I was booked in a horrible hotel for my trip to SXSW week !
Just try and find a room that week....SOLD OUT!
But, I thought I would take a shot at The Wyndam just down the street. They were so understanding and did everything they could to accomodate me...with a smile!
I don't know what I would have done otherwise!
During my stay I was always in need of a cab back & forth to Austin;
and they always were right on top of making sure I had one!
I was traveling with the band I manage for the conference, and although harmless, can cause a reaction in people.
The staff here treated them no differently than anyone else,in fact
went out of their way to be friendly! Anything we asked for they were more than happy to help!
I will definetly be staying here whenever I am in Austin again!

P.S. The bed is rediculously compfortable! And they even had a dock for your ipod!

  • Liked — How friendly the staff was.
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank himsgirlred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    489
    279
    131
    71
See reviews for
345
261
98
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

Needed just one night stay in the Austin airport vicinity, so used priceline and got a good price: 70 dollars, for a Thursday night, which includes taxes. Booked months in advance, then called the hotel 3 weeks ahead of time to request a King sized bed, non-smoking. Person on the phone was very agreeable, confirmed my reservation, and said everything was fine. However, upon check in around midnight, found that the room was actually had two double beds. Trekked back down to the front desk to ask to be switched, whereupon the staff became very rude and snobbish, saying that the King bed request was not a guarantee, and people who booked with Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, or the like (with a sneer), were usually the first bumped, despite the fact that I had made my reservation long before some of the other guests. He also refused to give me any kind of compensation for this trouble, and had no explanation as to why the person on the phone three weeks earlier made it seem that my request would be honored.

The room ended up being typical, of average cleanliness, and the price wasn't bad. I have been to nicer and cleaner Wyndham hotels. But being treated like a second-class citizen by one night staff with an attitude was enough to leave a bad taste. People looking for a bargain by booking online should be wary.

  • Disliked — rude desk staff, construction
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ellafunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Stayed here for a cheer competition recently, the staff is very friendly and professional. They go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. The food in the restaurant is good; the breakfast buffet was a little pricey. $14.00 per adult but they had a good variety. The beds seemed a little firm but I like the softer mattresses. The AC unit was a little tricky and it was very noisy. Might want to have someone come and show you how to use it. The hotel was located close to downtown and close to where we needed to be. The room was worth the rate we got, I don’t think I would have paid anymore for it. Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Beds and AC
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brandier1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

When I registered, I upgraded to the Executive level for a modest up-charge. That should have been a tipoff.

This was probably the homeliest room I have been in since a Motel 6. The fake wood counterlike desk ran across one entire wall, matched by a similiar headboard.

This was tolerable, but the freeway noise, the lack of drapes on the window which prevented darkening the room, and the loud and very drafty AC unit made sleep virtually impossible. Had to make a wall of pillows around the AC unit to stop the cold wind from blowing directly across the bed.

The public areas were nice, as was the staff. It is too bad the designers neglected the guests!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

The hotel used to be a Holiday Inn but Wyndham has invested money to renovate it.

Positives:

To begin with, the hotel staff is super-friendly. I had to check-in early (9:30am) to prepare for a business meeting and the front desk clerk held a room for me so that I could do so. The bed is HEAVENLY. The mattress and covers were plush and comfortable. I also received my complimentary beverage - a large bottle of white wine - and my complimentary snack. The shower's pressure and temperature were consistent and adequate. The AC works great! Also, free internet access was provided.

There is a hotel bar & restaurant on-site. I did not use those facilties but they were in constant use during our stay and they looked nice.

Negatives:

The first floor was renovated well, but the hallways looked tired and old. The ceilings were lower than a hotel standard, especially in the shower where there are ceiling tiles only 1 foot over your head (i'm 5' 11"). Most men might find that uncomfortable.

The AC units are wall units with controls on the wall. I hate wall units! They have this conservation thing with the AC so if you want to keep it running when you are not there, you have to leave the key in this slot on the wall. It's a little weird, but it's OK.

The bathroom is SMALL! I mean, there was not even space to put a towel rack or a hook in my bathroom. The towels were folded up and placed in a basket on the counter, taking up the small counterspace even further. The toilet was turned at an angle so that it could fit in there along with the shower. There was not even a wastebasket in the restroom as there was no space for it!

Summary:

This hotel is worth about $85-90 per night AT THE MOST. I had to pay $125 because there was a UT game going on that week-end. It wasn't worth that much, but it was the best bargain I could find for that week-end in a hotel (vs. an inn). It is an OK hotel with a GREAT staff!

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The bathroom space - too small!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HoustonHotelDiva_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2007

Austin: Wyndham Garden Hotel: "A Must Try & Return!"
Date: August 5, 2007
Reviewer: Travel Agent in Sugar Land, Tx
This was a spontaneous decision to check into the Wyndham Garden. The sub name Garden indicated to me from the street that this may be a low economy, family kitchenette, do-your-own laundry version. It was late and I had been driving for 2 days. So, I wanted to check it out for a few of my frequent weekend visitors to the area. The room was very nicely appointed with marble bath, comfort bedding (6 pillows stacked on a king) including a long, spacious built in work area, ergonomic chair and a leather recliner. It has 1st floor casitas surrounding the ;pool with patio chairs. The exercise room was in a tinted glass enclosure outside adjacent the pool. Used room service due to the late arrival time and the food was very good...great menu selections.
A very attentive staff.

  • Liked — Upscale, modern, quite and clean.
  • Disliked — No information about the hotel amenities or layout in the room. Some renovation was going on in the public areas, but for the better.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaganKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Wow, this place was wonderful! It was an easy and great location. The whole place was renovated and it's very very nice. This is definitely a 3-star easy. It was quiet, the beds are really nice and the linens were so great. The staff was always very helpful and kind. The pool was really nice, parking easy and free. Honestly, there is not one thing i can say against this place.....i was very impressed! I want to stay next time.

  • Liked — Modernized on the inside.........looked awesome
  • Disliked — Can't think of one thing..........sorry.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clairescuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Crowne Plaza Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Property: Wyndham Garden Austin
Address: 3401 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham
Wyndham Garden Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing