We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upsetting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
Ranked #52 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 8 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank AlexT3600
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This Wyndham Garden hotel is not fancy, but not bad either. It was well-located for events we had in both south Austin and Dripping Springs and parking is free. Staff was friendly, the room was large and the beds comfortable. The problem came with their "Economy" system and the a/c. I'm familiar with using a key card for electricity; it's not uncommon in Europe, so that wasn't the problem. The a/c also cooled well. At first. Therein lay the trouble: We'd set the a/c for what we wanted, choose "high" for the fan and all would be well, for about an hour or until the desired temperature was reached, when the system would cut off and return to its default "Economy" mode, i.e., too warm. That wasn't so much a problem during the day, but meant that, come bedtime, we'd drift off and then be awakened by the heat, have to get up and reset the a/c, fall asleep again, and then be awakened again. I called the front desk around 3am to confirm there wasn't some mysterious step I was missing to program the a/c, but no, I had it right. The lady offered to send a maintenance man up, but at 3am, we declined. I had a miserable fatigue headache after the first night and we got a very late start to the day. After a visit to the front desk, the woman there promised to send a maintenance person up. When we got back, it seemed someone had been in the room, so we hoped the problem was solved, but it was the same routine the 2nd night. We decided to set the a/c for as low as it would go. We froze for awhile, but at least were able to sleep longer after the a/c cut off and the heat woke us. Still, that made for about 4 middle-of-the-night resets of the a/c. Ridiculous! The one basic thing you expect from a hotel is for it to provide somewhere you can get a decent night's sleep. The Wyndham Garden Austin failed on this score. I reported the problem to the same woman yet again when we checked out, but I've got serious doubts about whether the problem will be resolved. (She apologized, but did not seem overly concerned.) I was hoping to spot another guest when we checked out to ask if they had similar problems, but we came down (late again, of course) when things were pretty deserted and I didn't get the chance. Either our room (330) was defective or the entire "Economy" system in the hotel is and no one is owning up to it. In May, the heat was only annoying and uncomfortable. Come summer, it could be downright intolerable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank fiddlerswife07
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is a quick 5 minute cab ride to Downtown Austin. It's very clean and the staff there were very friendly. They even offer complimentary airport shuttle, just sign up 24 hours before you wanna leave. I would most certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We appreciate you taking time to post a review of our property, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Please give us a call directly the next time you visit Austin, and we'll be sure you are taken care of again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#25 of 201 in Austin
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Address: 3401 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £78 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham
Wyndham Garden Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing