We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with an amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
Ranked #49 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The hotel is just south of "6th street" has great, clean rooms with a great internet connection. Most importantly, the staff is not only professional and polite but they also have a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamranV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,540 - 1,546 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed at the Wyndham Garden Hotel July 4 weekend (2008). The hotel was great! Comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff, large room. We were traveling with our dog, a 15 lb Boston Terrier and they were wonderful towards her. They even had a small stuffed toy and some dog treats waiting for her on our arrival. We booked the room online, and we booked one of the rooms on the top floor, they had to change us to a room on the ground floor because hotel policy states that all pets must be in rooms on the ground floor. This makes sense, since the ground floor rooms have doors that open to the grounds (Pool and hot tub area) where the dogs can go potty. We requested that a refrigerator be put in our room, since that is why we booked the top floor room, and they had no problems accommodating us! The location is pretty close to all the downtown Austin action and is only two or three blocks away from South Congress happenings.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed here for business and was really impressed with the renovated and comfortable room. Bed was great and if they used a higher quality sheet, it would be excellent! Bathroom was spacious and nicely updated. Front desk staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TXtravelerAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Checked in to the hotel, the staff was semi-friendly. The room I booked was not ready (3:30pm). I was given another equivilent room? I am in the consumer electronics industry and the first thing I noticed was an old TV set with horrible reception and red color saturation. (The room I booked supposedly had a 32" LCD TV!) The AC was very loud (old in wall unit). I called the front desk and was told that I could move to another room for an Additional $43.00/nite. I turned down their wonderful offer! The next day the AC went our and had to have a service man repair it.
They seemed to have a nice restaurant, but it closed after lunch....food was served only in the bar (mediocre). The nearest other restaurant is a good 1/2 mile away and to top it off the hotel has no snack machines. When I check out the only thing said by the desk clerk was "room number". She handed me a receipt for the charges....no "how was you stay?".........no " was everything ok?" not even a thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bpeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Dirty property. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunflower7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Attended a meeting at this hotel and had a wonderful stay, the hotel looked to be newly renovated; my room had a huge flat screen TV and a massive granite desk with a very comfortable desk chair, my room also had a very comfortable leather recline which made watching Monday Night Football very enjoyable as long as your were not a Denver fan.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 4PackFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

I travel a fair amount for business, and have a discrete set of concerns for a room. The first priority is air quality, second is bed.
The air quality at the Wyndham was great. To keep the air running all the time you have to put your room key in the slot of the air unit by the door (some environmental initiative), but this worked to my benefit because then I always knew where my room key was.

Bed was soft, plush, comfy, and the linens were great. Slept like a baby the whole time I was there.

Front desk staff were really nice, free shuttle to and from airport was fast. I didn't eat there so have no opinion about room service or restaurant.

The only downfall of this place is that you're not near anything in Austin and have to drive/cab to everything. But that's why he price is so low relative to value. If you're OK with driving in to your meetings or attractions and only coming back at the end of the day, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WorkingMomNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 201 in Austin
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Address: 3401 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#68 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham
Wyndham Garden Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing